Adobe Creative Suite Premium CS4 Pricing Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by XboxEvolved, Oct 27, 2009.

1. XboxEvolved macrumors regular

So I used to be a student when I had the last Creative Suite I bought, and am not now, although didn't have the chance to graduate so obviously the money isn't rolling in from designing (for the most part) and apparently this crap cost $1700? lol?

Anyways I suppose I understand the pricing, but would be unable to buy the $400 Student Edition so was wondering, would ebay be a good option? I found this: http://cgi.ebay.com/_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQitemZ290349235313 and the guy seems to be legit but I am still weary about it. Also seems like the guy has a hard time selling them, and was wondering if anyone has had any luck buying the stuff off of ebay?

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I'd read this thread before deciding to buy photoshop on ebay

linky

Basically ebay has a lot of PS counterfeits floating around there. Its easy enough for them (the pirates) to generate the serial number but adobe locks them down pretty quickly. I've read enough stories about people thinking they were buying the real deal then had activation issues.

If you do buy from ebay, you need to be sure that they include a certificate of transfer among the paper work. If the deal sounds too good to be true then it probably is. the link you provided is a good example, how can someone sell the retail copy of CS4 for a 1,000 less then reputable places. In fact adobe charges resellers more then that so again how can he sell legit copies? It doesn't matter about the guys feedback, just because he seems legit doesn't make him so.

Did you try calling adobe and asking if you could upgrade your student copy of CS3 to the retail version of CS4. I was able to do that without any problems. That may be cheaper and you'll not have to worry about piracy/counterfeit versions.

3. XboxEvolved thread starter macrumors regular