Adobe CS4 Academiclicensing help needed

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by alphaod, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    So I bought the academic version of CS4 Design Premium when it came out. I am planning to install it on my MacBook as well (already installed on the MacBook Pro). I understand that there is a student version, which is cheaper and the license explicitly states it can be installed on only 1 computer and it is for personal use only.

    However the retail version obviously does not have the personal use only clause, so you can use it for commercial purposes. It also states the software can be installed on 2 computers at once, but only one can be used a time; that is fine with me, since I won't be using 2 computers simultaneously.

    Now the issue is I have the 'Academic' version, which is not the student version; from what I can tell from my license, it doesn't say anything about not being allowed to be used for commercial purposes, so can I conclude it has the same license agreement as the regular version? I have been getting emails and Adobe treats me like a regular version customer—I get the same benefits. When I inquired about upgrades to the Master Suite (no way I need it) and I told them my license, they say it's upgradeable; I know the student version cannot be upgraded.

    I contacted support about this, they were clueless; they couldn't figure out the difference between the student version and the academic version; they said they would "get back" to me, which I'm interpreting as they have no idea themselves.

    Finally, price-wise the student version is $300, while the academic version is $600, so I cannot assume they are the same since the latter is twice the price of the former.

    Can I install my software on 2 computers without violating the software agreement?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    If it doesn't explicitly say you cannot in the EULA then I assume you can.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I believe you are correct in assuming that the academic version can be installed on two machines.

    However, according to the Adobe rep. with whom I spoke, the student version is also upgradeable, with no difference in that respect to the academic or retail versions.

    If you contact Adobe again regarding this question try asking the sales department.
     
  4. alphaod thread starter macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    But the last time I tried to reactivate my license because I forgot to deactivate it when I reinstalled, I had to explain it all to a service agent for a long time.

    That is why I cannot assume anymore, and I was hoping for a solid YES or NO

    Thanks though—you're probably right, but I need assurance; I don't really want my license voided.

    I will try that; thank you!

    I think I may attempt an installation and if I run into issues, I think Adobe will at least have the courteousey to inquire rather than just blacklisting my key.
     
  5. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    This is what confuses me. I know for a fact (rough fact) that the student versions at one point weren't upgradable, but I've looked around recently and can't find any notes to that affect.
     
  6. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    Then you need to contact Adobe.
     
  7. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I work for a College Bookstore, What we have been told is that the Student License is just a disc in a case and it is NOT upgradeable.($300 "Student License" version) The $600 "Acedemic" version that is a "Boxed Software" is upgradeable.

    What made me mad is on the box it says you cannot install CS4 on an SSD Drive. SO I had to buy Elements and install that on my MBAir. :mad:
     
  8. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    What? Really? Wow, maybe Adobe are trying to disclaim themselves from Photoshop prematurely breaking SSDs with scratch disk activity? :confused:

    Edit: read this from Adobe. You CAN install on an SSD. They badly worded their system requirements :rolleyes:
     
  9. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #9
    Hey Alphaod, I'm in the same boat as of last year. I bought the Master Collection CS4 for a reduced price/academic price ($506 v. $2499) and have installed it on two machines, after getting just the disc and no box or manual. This would be considered the Student Licensing Option (SLO) also available to UC/CSU Staff and Faculty, though confused until I asked our SLO specialists on campus, we were given the green light to install the entire program on more than one computer for non-commercial use. Again, these were my instructions from our campus SLO specialist. Hope this helps rather than confuses...:eek:
     
  10. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    That's correct. Based on my understanding this changed with CS4.
     
  11. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    Yes, the student version doesn't come with a box: it's just a disk and a case.
     
  12. alphaod thread starter macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    I guess we could differentiate the difference between the student version and academic version by looking at the boxes and it's packaging?

    I bought the download version, so I don't have that luxury.

    As an update, I successfully installed CS4 without any hiccups; I'll call Adobe on Monday just to be sure.
     

Share This Page