Adobe CS6 updates

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Halcyon, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. Halcyon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #1
    I upgraded with no problems Photoshop CS6 version 13.0.1 on my MacBook Pro Retina running OS 10.11.6, all the way through version 13.0.6 But when I wanted to do the same on my iMac (non retina) running OS 10.6.8 it would not let me...a message saying the "update failed, update could not be appplied, patch is not applicable to you". So I can't go past Photoshop CS6 version 10.0.1.

    Same for Illustrator, InDesign and Dreamweaver.

    ¿Do I need to have a retina display Mac to be able to update, or is it because the difference in OS systems 10.11.6 vrs 10.6.8...maybe both? ¿Or maybe I'm doing something else wrong?

    Update option is grayed out in the Help menu, so I downloaded the updates directly from Adobe to manually install them but the fail on my iMac as opposed to my MBPR.

    Actually I don't mind if I can´t get the iMac to upgrade (maybe I'll be able once I update the OS in my iMac to El Capitan...as soon as I can find some free time)...it only bothers because files I open in one machine and then saved, when I open them in the other machine it starts telling me that text was done in a different version and it needs to be updated before I can edit it and some formatting might change. Also, I'm not 1005 sure but it seems that besides the upgrade being to make the software Retina compatible, there seems to be some security updates also (that have nothing to do with being on a retina display or not, and this is why I'm interested in upgrading the iMac).

    I've spend several hours googling and researching everywhere and I could not find an answer.

    BTW, I have the Box version of CS6, the one with a perpetual license and not the CC subscription license.

    Thanks in advance.

    JC
     
  2. pwhitehead macrumors 6502

    pwhitehead

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    new jersey
    #2
    Wsup dude? Do a TimeMachine back up from the updated computer and restore the back up on the computer that's giving you the problem. Problem solved. :)
     
  3. Halcyon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #3
    Uhmmm..never thought to go in that direction. I don't do Time Machine back up´s (I use CCC for back ups, which serves my purpose better), so I'll look into it. If it can't be done from a CCC back up, I'll look into doing a Time Machine BU...I imagine you can select/exclude what you want to BU in Time Machine, which makes me wonder what I would excatly need to BU.

    What if I just replace the Photoshop app with the clone I have on an external drive from the other machine?

    Thanks.
     
  4. pwhitehead macrumors 6502

    pwhitehead

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    new jersey
    #4
    Do a backup of the entire computer and then you can pick and choose what you want to put on the machine thats giving you a problem. Whats nice about macs, you don't have any DLL and/or ocx files like windows computers. So when you copy that version of PS over, it will build its own library files upon opening the program.
     
  5. Halcyon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #5
    Well, I did tried your method and it kinda created havoc with the entire CS6 suit...Photoshop wouldn't open anymore, Illustrator went into Try Out mode and would not accept me serial number when I tried to activate it, etc. Maybe it can be done, but there are many adobe files that need to be replaced making it very tedious and easy to miss something (which is probably what happened to me).

    Had to restore everything from my most recent back up and now everything is back to normal...well, plus the fact I still can´t update my CS6 apps.

    I would like to say I was almost convinced that these updates are only applicable if you have a Retina display Mac...but, at one point the updated Illustrator version 16.0.5 copied from the other machine back up did run flawlessly (albeit it was in Trial Mode). So the updates do work on non-Retina Macs after all.
     
  6. organicCPU macrumors 6502

    organicCPU

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    #6
    For CS6 apps retina displays are definitely not required and even unsupported in some apps. Here are the full requirements. Strange that you couldn't upgrade, but start the apps. Did you know that Adobe offers the full installers for download to license owners? Maybe they are already up to date. Did you make a fresh OS install? Check Java version and try fire up /Applications/Utilities/Adobe Application Manager/core/Adobe Application Manager.app if present. If the same app license is installed on more than one desktop and one laptop it can also be a hassle...
     
  7. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #7
    CS6 debuted in 2012 so updating things can be annoying. It's not really actively supported at this point. It simply continues to work or it doesn't. There are a lot of library components and things that are put in place by the installer script. I wouldn't expect you to be able to just drag and drop.
     
  8. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #8
    If the fates were kind - GIMP would also offer a front end or "skin" that emulated the look/feel of CS6 and also take all of it's 3rd party add ons/filters. I admit I really hate being stuck in the water (having CS6 installed) and don't want to go to the pay to continue to play Adobe scheme. In the meanwhile, I'll watch as various other makers of photo editing software mature. At least on the OSX side, there are quite a few that are starting to impress.
     
  9. Halcyon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #9
    I spent a couple hours with Adobe on the phone and their final recommendation was to perform a clean install of the OS and then reinstall all my CS6 apps. They are aware this is a well known issue. Kinda drastic solution, being the amount of software, plugs ins and others I have installed in this machine.

    What didn't work: uninstalling app and installing again, Updating AAM (Adobe Application Manager - even after updating the Update option in the Help menu is still grayed out), updating Java and many more...

    Adobe still supports CS6, if you have a CC license you can download the latest CC version and/or the CS6 version.

    I will hang on to my perpetual license and get the CC license in a couple of months.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 13, 2016 ---
    I wouldn't mind ditching Adobe products, but I have a small print shop and almost 99.9% of the files we receive are from one or another Adobe app.
     
  10. Supermacguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #10
    10.6.8 is likely way too old for CS6 (specifically the updater app, not the core), which came out, just off the top of my head, in the Lion 10.7 or ML 10.8 timeframe (confirmed).
     
  11. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #11
    You don't mention the method applied to introduce the updates; do you have the 'combo' style update for 13.0.6? Have you tried that? Going straight from 13.0 to 13.0.6?
     

Share This Page