Adobe Flash plug-ins won't work

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macjay, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. macjay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    #1
    Hi,

    I clicked on a Flash online tutorial, and it told me to install the latest Flash program. I went to Adobe's site and installed Flash 9 and Shockwave. Now on any page with Flash content I get popups saying the plugins aren't installed, and I'm directed to download and install Flash (which I've already done). Anyone know how I can fix this?

    BTW before I downloaded and installed Flash 9, all Flash content on the web worked fine in Safari and Firefox.

    Thanks.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    What sort of Mac do you have? Have you restarted?
     
  3. NuDarwin macrumors member

    NuDarwin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    #3
    try closing and re-opening firefox/safari. this will most likely fix the problem.
     
  4. mopppish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #4
    I'm having the same problem. It's been intermittent, too. Sometimes it tells me I need the player (even after installing, reinstalling, restarting Safari/Firefox, resetting Safari, restarting the computer, repairing permissions) and sometimes it works. It's even intermittent for the same sights.
    Piece of crap...
    I have a C2D MBP.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Interesting. If you Get Info on your plugin, does it show as Universal, PPC or Intel?
     
  6. dennisj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #6
    I seem to be having the same or at least similar problem. For me the flash 8 plugin works but not 9. I wouldn't have a problem with this except when I come across a website that requires the latest player. I've tried installing player 9 several times (reseting the browsers and computer) but just end up reinstalling 8 again. I do have the full Flash 8 program installed on my computer if that makes a difference.

    I'm running a PB G4 with PowerPC, OSX 10.4.10.

    I know this thread is a little old. Has anyway found a solution?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. Nukemkb macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC

Share This Page