Adobe Premiere Pro 2014 on MP6,1 and MP5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bxs, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. bxs, Jun 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2014

    bxs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I have MP6,1 (12core, 2.7GHz, 1TB PCIe SSD, Dual D700s, 64GB RAM) and MP5,1 (12 core, 2.93 GHz, 960 GB PCIe SSD, Sapphire Radeon HD 7950, 64GB RAM) and run Adobe Premiere Pro 2014 on each.

    Running the same project workload on each MacPro I find the MP5,1 performs smoothly, no hangups, no stuttering and in general allows me to get my work done in a timely manner.

    However, the same is not true running the same Premiere Pro workload on the MP6,1. Premiere Pro will be slow/sluggish at times, stalls and I have to either force Quit or at times even have to Restart the system to sort things out. When it does run smoothly it's noticeably faster at getting the work done compared to the MP5,1.

    Both MacPros are running 10.9.3 (latest).

    I cannot fathom why the new MP6,1 exhibits this behavior and its performance is very disappointing using Adobe's software on it.

    I suspect Adobe has had more time to iron out the wrinkles on the MP5,1 as it has been around for more years than the MP6,1 which really has only been exposed to the 'field' for just over 6 months.

    Do others with MP5,1 and MP6,1 also notice this difference when running Adobe Premiere Pro 2014 on both ?

    Unfortunately, I'm finding I have to use my MP5,1 to reliably get my work done and will with reservation only use the MP6,1 with fingers crossed that it will behave.
     
  2. pcievstb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    #2
    I'm not sure about that. I'd think that Adobe makes sure the Applications run properly on OSX and doesn't optimize for specific machines. Not 100% sure but it sounds unlikely to me.
     
  3. bxs, Jun 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2014

    bxs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    My MP5,1 has less problems but the MP6,1 is faster. Premier freezes on MP6,1 occasionally forcing a quit and sometimes a restart.

    The MP5,1 is older hardware and has mature drivers.

    The MP6,1 is newer hardware/software and drivers are less mature IMO.

    My guess is that Adobe Premiere just isn't as comfortable/stable using dual D700s in the MP6,1 vs. the single Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 in the MP5,1.... just a guess.:)
     
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Probably the new Mac Pro was optimized better for Final Cut Pro X users than Adobe Premiere Pro though I may be wrong. There is an article related to this, http://www.macworld.co.uk/news/mac-...-new-mac-pro-2013-optimised-features-3494502/ The article mentions better rendering and playback with FCP X Just a guess, maybe the nMac Pro was prioritized for FCP X users.
     
  5. snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #5
    I did several PP/AE projects on my 6,1 and things ran great. And then 10.9.3 was released...
     
  6. airdrop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #6
    Just want to mention that the newest Adobe CC (v.2014) is very laggy release (After Effects, Photoshop) on my current machine with nVidia (iMac, 3,5GHz i7, 16GB, GTX 780M, SSD) comparing to the previous 2013's CC.

    I believe this is "Adobe" issue to find the right direction with the drivers.


    I'm in the market for nMP (that is why I viewing this section).
     
  7. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #7
    Welcome... in advance! :D
    Ed
     

Share This Page