Adobe Reader 7.0.8/Firefox 2.0.0.12

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MACDRIVE, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. MACDRIVE macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #1
    PDFs will open in Adobe Reader by default while using Safari, but will open in Preview while using Firefox. What do I need to do to get PDFs to open in Adobe Reader while using Firefox?
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    you just need to associate pdf with adobe reader, I think
     
  3. MACDRIVE thread starter macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #4
    [​IMG]

    I tried unchecking Open with [Preview (default)] but it won't uncheck. And there's no other selection besides Preview.

    ajx22, I clicked on your link but I see no mention of Adobe Reader in that link. :confused:
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    lol, select any pdf file in your finder, right click, get info, open with drop down menu, choose adobe, check "always open with" box.
     
  5. MACDRIVE thread starter macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #6
    That's a nice trick! I'm still looking for the "always open with adobe" check box though. :eek:
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    sorry, wasn't on my MB. should be "change all" button.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. MACDRIVE thread starter macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #8
    [​IMG]

    I don't think we're getting the same windows. Firefox sends the PDF file to the desk top. When I click on the PDF, that's what I see. I would definitely make Adobe the default if I could. :eek:

    Thank You for your help clevin. :)
     
  8. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    no p :D, you should click that "get info" line which is right below the highlighted line of your context menu. then you will see the window I posted above.

    PS. if you are using an Intel chip powered mac. you might want to get free adobe reader 8. which runs faster on intel chip.
     
  9. MACDRIVE thread starter macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #10
    [​IMG]

    I clicked on the Get Info line like you said, but I didn't get the same window as you get. :(
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    click that "open with" triangle. those are all folded up,
     
  11. MACDRIVE thread starter macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California

Share This Page