Adobe reader help please

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Neil321, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #1
    Have just downloaded adobe reader 8 installed ok
    but when i try to open it, the pointer then shows what
    looks like a little watch is this normal? if not are there
    any other pdf readers for Macs?

    Nearly forgot got leopard installed and would rather have a seperate app other than peview

    thanks
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Does it eventually open? Is it listed in Activity Monitor?
     
  3. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    According to Adobe's Leopard compatibility chart (pdf), Reader 8 will require an update which is, supposedly, forthcoming:

     
  4. Mydel macrumors 6502a

    Mydel

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    Sometimes here mostly there
    #4
    But works for me on Leopard. Not that I use it a lot, I just use it to compile pdf from multiple files.
     
  5. Neil321 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #5
    hi sorry for the delay but live in uk so prob diff time zone to the rest of you

    no waited for about five minutes and it didnt open

    yes it shows up on the dock and the activity monitor

    has anyone tried pdflab
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Are you opening just the app, or an actual PDF? Does it say Adobe in the Menu Bar (up the top) once it is open?
     
  7. Neil321 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #7
    yep it shows up in the menu bar i use it for emails alot but havnt got one at mo
    to see if it will open it up


    Edit sorry all i just opened the stacks pdf document with it but looks like its now the default
    pdf reader anyway of changing that
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    I don't use Adobe PDF Reader because I still haven't forgiven it for being so slow back on Panther, however I seem to remember that opening it wouldn't really change your screen layout much. If you're just opening the app then I don't think you've got an issue. If you're trying to open a PDF and it's not working... Well, that's another story.
     
  9. Neil321 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    thanks for the help yep it seems to working fine i was prob dreaming of my
    windows days when i had the reader i think even if you opened it, it showed
    a blank page so thats what i was expecting. You should try it,it fly's,just dont
    like it being a default thats all
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia

Share This Page