Advice? 15"MBP, Black MB or Wait for Update?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Skalor, Feb 28, 2008.

1. Skalor macrumors newbie

Hey. I'm no tech geek so i'm looking for a little advice. Ill explain my situation.

Willing to spend: Upto £1800 + I'm a Uni Student (Equivilent of Top end MBP so you can work out the apple exchange rate to £ lol)

Use: Graphic Design, Photo Editing, Web Design. Little amount of Animation, Video Editing and non-serious Gaming.

How long it needs to be DECENT for: 2011 and hopefully longer.

How often will it be used: Everyday for over 4 Hours ATLEAST

Current State of My Decktop PC 1.26GH AMDAthlon, 512 Ram, Crap Graphics card and it's in a dying state!

Ok and now the advice I need is whether:

-Buy the better 15" MBP (And give it 4GB Ram Myself)
    Reason: Im not desperate about 17" so I can save money, for a lighter notebook that fits in my bag with same specs.

-Buy the best MB (Black) (And give it 4GB Ram Myself)
    Reason: Better looking design, better keyboard??? [advice needed], cheaper and same specs as 15" MBP apart from Graphics card??? [advice needed]

-Wait until June-Sept for new MBPs (give Ram Upgrade also)
    Reason: Possible redesign and better processors??? [advice needed]

Because I'm no Tech Geek I don't know how important that graphic card difference is to me and my work, and how much Different the Macbook 13" is from the Top end MBP 15". I also don't understand how much better the NEW UPDATED MBPs will be in June and whether its worth waiting for at all.

We could have a chat on MSN if it would be more helpful.

All advice is greatly appreciated, Thanks a lot!

- Matthew :)

2. Skalor thread starter macrumors newbie

3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

scienide09

Two things you might consider. I'll give them now, as they might change your list of options.