Advice about Subletting an Apartment

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Mr_Brightside_@, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

Mr_Brightside_@

Hello all, I'm hoping to garner some knowledge from people who have experience with subletting. I'm a student who has just found a 2 bedroom apartment in Toronto, Ontario, to be shared with a friend. We want to sublet the apartment from May 1-August 31 and we want to know the best way to do so / find people to stay there.

What I'm looking for is advice on what I can do to guarantee that prospective subletters do what we need them to- pay rent on time, pay the utilities that are not included, be responsible for any damages, and, perhaps most importantly, leave the apartment on August 31 (am I missing anything else?). I know there are specific agreements/leases/contracts that can be signed to ensure all these things happen as they're meant to, but I'm not sure what they are specifically, and, since I'm essentially doing all this work alone, I don't know exactly where to look.
    If anyone has any ideas, forms that can be downloaded, websites, or just any input whatsoever, it would make my life a lot less stressful.
    Thank you

2. Fake Hipster macrumors member

Well you could have your landlord draw up a sublease, and have them sign it. Most people won't be interested in doing that for only a 4 month lease however.

Most people list on craigslist, under sublets. Its really all about meeting the person and finding out whether you trust them or not. I live in NYC and there are tons of sublet options and almost all wont sign you on to the lease, except if its for longer than 6 months usually. A sublet is a short term flexible thing.

Also, asking for a first and last and security deposit isnt out of the question, though it may be a little excessive for a 4 month lease (you're essentially asking for 3 months rent upfront for a 4 month stay).

3. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68020