Advice desperately needed on Macbook Pro purchase!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by powerchord, Nov 4, 2007.

1. powerchord macrumors member

Hello everyone, after a few months of visiting/reading this wonderful site, this is my very first post. I am a grad student and lifelong PC user who will be finally making the leap to-what I hope is-the glorious world of Apple. I humbly ask for your input and advice regarding my imminent Mac laptop purchase. I was planning on getting a low-end Macbook Pro with a 160 GB hard drive, and then these latest updates led me to reevaluate things (like 250 GB hard drive). I still like the fact the MBP has a larger screen than the MB (and that the MBP has a matte screen option).

I must admit that I wondered why Apple hadn't introduced updates to the MBPs (other than the option for a 250 GB hard drive, and 2.6 processor option for the higher-end models) either concurrently with the MB updates or even preceding the MB updates. Many of you are saying that the updates to the MBs have made them comparable to the low-end MBPs. Now the gap has been narrowed between the two, and I wonder if MB sales will cannibalize low-end MBP sales? Anyhoo...

1) I read that Apple does indeed consider the "changes" to the MBP to be an official update. Does that mean that there won't be any other minor updates (like a speed bump) prior to Macworld in January?