Advice: First time Mac user & Photographer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nazedayo, Oct 16, 2012.

1. nazedayo macrumors member

Hey folks,

The title is a bit misleading because I've used Apples before for work, but never owned one. I'm sick of my windows laptops dying on me, I'm ready to buy a Mac for myself.

I'm a photographer so the #1 priority: needs to run Lightroom 4 smoothly. I know already I need 8GB ram MINIMUM; on my 2.3Ghz hackintosh desktop, it barely crunches through the RAW files. I also do heavy editing with Alien Skin Exposure 4 & Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

Mac Mini seems like the perfect desktop solution (I already have a monitor, mouse, and keyboard). I could get the 2.3 or 2.5 Ghz and deck it up to 8GB. Or do I need at least an iMac? Or do I need a Mac Pro? Is it Ghz, or Graphics cards that matter?

But I want portability as well. Thinking of getting a minimum, $999 Mac Air for travel (I travel a lot for work).

My budget is about $2000, but willing to bend a few hundred more $ if it's worth it.

To sum up:
    - Needs to run lightroom SMOOTHLY! Can't emphasise this enough. I can tolerate a little lag, but anything more than a 5 second "processing" sign could be a problem.
    - That said, it doesn't need to do more than that. I won't be playing any games, for example.
    - 1 portable option is needed. Could be Mac Air souped out, Macbook Pro, or a combination of Mac Air and a desktop.
    - Smaller the better. My ideal set-up would be a Mac Mini + Mac Air, but you tell me if that works or not.

Thanks! Let the debates begin!

2. 7enderbender macrumors 6502a

7enderbender