Advice for a College Student Buying a BlackBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Eve, May 28, 2007.

1. Eve macrumors newbie

So, I'm not technically a college student yet, but I just graduated high school and I am about to enter my first year of college in September. Anyway, as a graduation present my parents told me they'd buy me a Mac. Here is what I've decided upon:

MacBook 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Black
    2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    iWork '06 preinstalled
    200GB Serial ATA @ 4200 rpm

I'm also getting a burgundy sleeve, The Sims2, and The Sims 2 University.

Anyway, I have a couple of questions.

1) Will I have any trouble connecting to the internet at school? They have WiFi in some parts of the campus, but I also need an ethernet cable for the dorm. Will it come with an ethernet cable or do I need to buy one?

2) With getting iWork preinstalled, how comparable is it to Office? I'm going to be writing a lot of papers and I wonder how much trouble I am going to have using the word processor on this. Is it very hard to get used to or is it really easy (as I would expect from Apple)?

3) How well will my BlackBook run the Sims 2? I know Macs aren't preferrable for gaming, but this will still run well, right?

4) I've heard a rumor that they offer a free iPod deal starting in June, anyone know how true/false this is?

Thanks for your time. I may have more questions to come, but answering these will help a lot. I know I'm going to get a Mac, no doubt about that, it's just more of the specs and things that I am not sure what to do about it. Any other suggestions would be helpful. Thank you again.

*Edit*
    I nearly forgot, I am also getting AppleCare Protection Plan, is this worth it?

2. Vidd macrumors 6502a

Vidd

I think you'll have to pick one up, unless the dorms are supplied with them.