Advice for a newbie...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bewarethewolves, May 2, 2011.

  1. Bewarethewolves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #1
    Hello everyone, this is my first post, i'm sorry if this question has been answered a thousand times but your advice is badly needed. I am looking to purchase an Apple computer mainly for the use of Logic Studio and internet browsing, would i be better getting a 15'' MBP or the new refreshed imac? Feedback on why which one is the right choice would be helpful. Thankyou for your time:D
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    The new iMac will be a bit faster and have a bigger display and screen resolution, but if you want portability, you might take a closer look at the MBP.
    Both Macs will be sufficient for your uses, unless you do really, really heavy Logic work.

     
  3. ndraves macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    The hardware on both will be fine for your needs. So:

    If you would like the portability of the MBP then there's your answer.

    But the iMac has a much bigger screen for working on and the computer will be better at the more demanding processes for longer as it uses desktop components rather than laptop.

    The only other thing I would say is that if you can get a solid state drive (SSD), these really fly and having just upgraded it's like a totally new machine. The best option would be to get an after market SSD to put in the iMac as an additional drive (it will take 2 drives) as Apple drives are very expensive.

    Also don't get an Apple RAM upgrade as they are too expensive and that is REALLY easy to upgrade yourself. This means that you don't have to do it straight away - you can upgrade if you find you need it later.
     
  4. shani4321 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #4
    You should get an imac. I m currently using imac 27 inch. What a great product from apple
     
  5. zombierunner macrumors 6502a

    zombierunner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    England is my city
    #5
    can you not just buy an external ssd drive and use it as your mac's ssd ? as in putting mac os on it and all applications ? is it possible ? if it is then no need to install ssd in imac by removing the screen and all that jazz
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Yes, that will work too, but you will not get the full speed the SSD offers, as it using an SSD as external HDD is limited to the interface one uses. Right now external HDDs only come with USB 2.0, USB 3.0, Firewire 400 and 800 and eSATA. Maybe there will be external HDD enclosures with TB, thus one can take full advantage of an SSD with a TB equipped Mac.
     
  7. zombierunner macrumors 6502a

    zombierunner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    England is my city
    #7
    what about the lacie little big disk with thunderbolt .. whenever it comes out ... i mean it has ssd and thunderbolt? should be alright i guess but how would you even put mac os in it .. i mean if its on your regular 1tb drive .... how would you transfer the os to the external drive?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Use CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper to make a 1:1 copy of Mac OS X onto an external HDD or SSD, or install Mac OS X onto the external SSD or HDD.
     
  9. Bewarethewolves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for everyones advice. But if I buy one of the new imac's, why would I need to install new drives, won't it be fast enough? I'm looking at getting a 21'' with 1tb.
     
  10. zombierunner macrumors 6502a

    zombierunner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    England is my city
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks man
     
  11. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #11
    Plenty. disregard the whole SSD thing above.
     
  12. Bewarethewolves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #12
    Cool, because i don't want to be spending over £1200 on a computer just to find out I need faster drives. Thankyou.
     
  13. shtoat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #13
    I'm trying to make the same decision for the same reason (Logic).

    Apparently iMacs are very quiet, which might be useful for you if you're producing music.

    I don't have an MPB but I have heard that they can run hot causing their fans to get very loud.

    Is this accurate? If iMacs are quieter I will definitely be leaning in that direction.
     
  14. Bewarethewolves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #14
    Yes, i have heard that also, do you think I would require additional speakers for an imac or will the built in ones be sufficient?
     
  15. I AM THE MAN macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #15
    The 21inch will be good enough, however, do wait for this refresh, and if you can afford the bigger iMac with a spec-update, the computer will last much longer in the future.
     
  16. I AM THE MAN macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #16
    Built in speakers are alright, but if you have that little bit of extra money left over, invest in a set of speakers. You can never go wrong with Speakers.
     
  17. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #17
  18. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #18
  19. Bewarethewolves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

Share This Page