Advice for HDD connections

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by willie45, Jun 27, 2013.

1. willie45 macrumors regular

Hi

I have 2 iMacs, a mini, and a MBP. They all have firewire and USB 2 but only the mac min has USB 3. They all have Thunderbolt apart from the oldest iMac.

I also have a variety of HDDs purchased over the years. I need a lot of storage - I'm a photographer using large RAW files - and I also run all my music files in AIFF on HDDs.

Anyway, I am reluctant to invest more money in HDDs with Firewire which looks like it will die out in the next few years. I can't really see many affordable drives with Thunderbolt and I'm wondering how this will fare in the future. Seems to be a very very slow uptake.

I could stick with USB3 and just suffer the slower USB 2 speeds when I'm using drives connected to all my computers apart from the mini which has USB 3 ports but this would be a pain.

So I'm stuck any advice or is there some way of using the drives and some sort of converter so that they will at least work with all my computers?

Thanks for any advice you might have

2. simsaladimbamba

All of those have Gigabit Ethernet? If so, why not consider NAS?
    If that is not an option, go with Thunderbolt and have the iMac w/o that port relegated to other duties or replace it, if it is a necessary asset.

3. meistervu macrumors 65816

I agree with simsaladimbamba, why not a NAS?

You have a bunch of drives, and you want to access them via 4 different computers. A RAID NAS seems like the obvious solution. Your bottleneck is the gigabit ethernet connection, so those old drives are fine.

4. errol macrumors 6502

errol

5. opinio macrumors 65816

The LaCie Tbolt esata hub will give you fast drive options but you will need an esata enclosure. I have one of these. Works really well. Excellent speeds.

Belkin and sonnet have both come out with Tbolt to usb3.0 adapters. But they are not cheap.