Advice for "maxing out" 3,1 2.2Ghz 160GB Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by eUnique, May 22, 2011.

1. eUnique macrumors member

Hi all (cool forum btw)
    So I sold some other technology to try to upgrade this macbook as much as possible because I intend on keeping it for a while, and I like the idea of buying quality parts that can be transfered (I'm a computer newbie, so how true is that?).

I am a math major and will be writing and running mathmatica and a few other languages (java.. etc). I also play Starcraft 2, but I don't need blazing speed but at the same time I want to run it smooth. Another thing is I 4 table poker w/ one or two poker applications running. And I'll have the usual media library. Lastly I have hopes and dreams to do some databasing (sp?) and some programs for it, but I have no idea how much space or power that kind of stuff requires, its more of a pipedream atm.

After my "research" it seems like SSD's are desirable, and as for the ram I know I can do a 2x2 2GB upgrade. So whats everyones opinions on the choices I've made :).

For RAM upgrade to 4GB:
    http://www.google.com/products/cata...Tc_VHoj50gGwpaX8Aw&ved=0CDUQ8wIwAw#ps-sellers
    -I read alot of consumer reviews from mac owners post 2,1 and none had issues and it's faster than most others 2gb, thoughts?

And from what I've gathered, I can put a SSD in my primary and put a HDD in my optical drive? If that is the case for SSD I have 3 "picks":
    -http://www.amazon.com/Intel-SSDSC2MH250A2K5-510Series-2-5inch-Retail/dp/B004TO4JP0/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1306126712&sr=8-10

-OZC SSD (dont know whats from what)

-Crucial SSD

I don't mind being a little excessive and have decided that I want a 256gb SSD based on my budget.

Suggestions are much appreicated!

2. JamDonut, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011

JamDonut macrumors member