Advice for networked hard drive/server. Time Capsule, Drobo, etc.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by stiltstudio, Oct 22, 2009.

1. stiltstudio macrumors newbie

I need to set up a network drive as a storage sever for my graphic design company. I also need it to backup data on my laptop (via Time Machine ideally).

I considered a Time Capsule, but I've been deterred by news of the many recent drive failures and the limitations with upgradability.

I then considered using an Airport Extreme connected to a Drobo. But have read many negative reviews for them as well.

I'm very proficient with computers but I'm new to the network/server world and could use some advice. The drive will typically only be networked to one or two computers at a time. I need it to serve mostly as a data server. But I also need it to back up data from my laptop. This will also require a second drive setup to back up this networked drive. Do Raid drive setups still need to be backed up?

Any advice on hardware or links to sites to learn my options would be appreciated.

2. psingh01 macrumors 65816

Most people will get religious about RAID IS NOT BACKUP. So yeah, you need to backup your raid in the sense that if your raid catches fire or an anvil falls on it you can lose all your data. If you have raid 1 or raid 5 then one of your drives can fail and you don't lose your data. Just replace the bad one and rebuild the array.

Anyway as one possible solution to your problems: HP MediaSmart server. Has hotswapple drive slots for lots of storage. Works as a Time Machine backup. Runs Windows Home Server so it's not a Mac solution but it works well with Macs. Doesn't use raid though. Works as a NAS. Has media streaming features if that's what you like. I have one and like it. I just use it as a NAS though. Nothing fancy.

3. stiltstudio thread starter macrumors newbie