Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

irishgrizzly

macrumors 65816
Original poster
May 15, 2006
I'd like to learn complete proficiency in web design. I have designed sites before using HTML and others just using Image ready, very simple sites but they did the job at the time. My background is print design.

I am wondering where do I start? How much do people use Dreamweaver as a starting point for every job?

If I start learning from books like this or this I imagine they would be a good basis but would I be able to readily apply that knowledge to starting a job in Dreamweaver? What other apps do people use, do many build everything from scratch using just code?

Some other questions;

• I understand PHP and MySQL are very important for creation of larger, dynamic websites. Where would the best place to start with these? How much is necessary to learn for getting smaller site running?
  • Where are all these standards heading in the future? As thing change so rapidly are any on the way out, soon to be replaced with a new standard?

angelwatt

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
USA
Every work environment is different. They may want you proficient in any number of applications. DreamWeaver is a common one, but I never use it. I learned to hand code everything so as long as I have a text editor I can be productive. My preferred editor is BBEdit, but there are a few nice ones, and what's best for me isn't necessarily what's best for you. Try some out and see what features help you the most and let that guide you to a editor of your choice.

The books linked looked OK, but nothing special. I learned everything online through tutorials and scanning through other people's code. There are a ton of online resources to make use of so don't be too quick on buying books until you get a feel for where you may need the most help.