Resolved Advice in heavy rebuilding/upgrade iBook SE

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by phoenixsan, Mar 18, 2013.

1. phoenixsan, Mar 18, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013

phoenixsan macrumors 65816

phoenixsan

Hello again people....!

A student comes to me (I am a professor in a college) with a iBook SE 466 Graphite given to her for her father. Wants to check the machine and upgrade it, if possible. I do my usual rutine with an used computer and after throughly checked, I found the HDD and battery dead. So I told her about it. She now wants to know how much to spend in a new HDD (maybe in the 20-40 GB range), new battery and upgrading the ram to 256 MB. And here I am seeking advice about these parts, to make a budget for her.

So any help/pointers or advice will be thanked for she and I. And if you can give me ammo in the form of informated opinions, I would like to talk she out of this project.

:):apple:

2. jpcoelho macrumors member

jpcoelho

Hi!

I've just recently ordered a replacement battery for my Clamshell ibook, this was the best I could find... regarding the HDD, you can probably find a 32 Gb PATA SSD for around $40, and that disc will give the ibook a considerable performance boost...

3. skateny macrumors 6502

skateny

A lot depends on her budget and what she needs/intends to do with the iBook. Even if everything were in good working condition, she'd still be dealing with a laptop that has several limitations.

Resurrecting and maintaining old Macs typically requires great care and a measure of commitment.

Without knowing more about her expectations, I'd recommend a cheap Windows laptop.

4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

Jessica Lares

Well, you either leave it at OS 9 or OS X Tiger. With 9, you can get away with a small hard drive and little RAM. If you go the Tiger route, I suggest a bigger SSD and maxing out the RAM.