Advice needed for a programmer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by truthseekr, May 29, 2009.

1. truthseekr macrumors newbie

I am a programmer who has worked on Linux/Windows machines for most of my career. I've been looking for a laptop and most of my friends have referred me to get a 15" Macbook Pro. You get Unix and a Mac in one. I can also learn some iPhone development.

I code mostly in Java/Web/Ruby and am trying to get some work done in Flash/Flex.
    Is a 15" MBP the right choice or is Macbook good enough for me?

However, the price point is pretty steep for me.
    I looked hard on craigslist to find a deal but the kind of sellers I found were err, mostly the questionable kind.

Is there a trick to verifying if a Macbook Pro is not stolen/fake on craigsList?

In order to save myself from losing faith in the human kind, I am leaning towards buying directly from Apple.

I have been eying refurbished MBPs on Apple Store for a while and I am hoping the WWDC will get me a MBP either refurbished or in clearance.

I've never owned a Mac, why do I need the sleeves/casings everyone seems to mention?

Thanks for all your advice.

2. RoninXI macrumors regular

Is a 15" MBP the right choice or is Macbook good enough for me?
    >> I would have to say yes.

However, the price point is pretty steep for me.
    >> Macs (even used ones) are not really cheap. All the Mac users I know use them til it dies and reselling tends to be high(with exceptions of course.)

I looked hard on craigslist to find a deal but the kind of sellers I found were err, mostly the questionable kind.
    >> Again with the not cheap if it is insanely cheap it is probably not really what they say, stolen/fake/"totaled" and repaired by owner.

I have been eying refurbished MBPs on Apple Store for a while and I am hoping the WWDC will get me a MBP either refurbished or in clearance.