Advice needed for a second graphics card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dualrecto, Jul 6, 2008.

1. Dualrecto macrumors newbie

I currently have a 2007 first gen mac pro with the stock 7300gt running two 22" monitors. I am looking into purchasing a wacom cintiq and I will need another graphics card in order to run it.

I do not play any games. I work primarily as a graphic artist, but also do some 3d and video editing. The next version of photoshop is supposed to be gpu accelerated so I rather buy a decent card now than have to buy another one later. I am also a musician so I prefer that the card is quiet. I am looking at the 8800gt, the Radeon HD 3870, or another 7300gt.

Will the 3870 be able to run with the 7300gt simultaneously? Is anyone here running ati and nvidia cards together? I am leaning towards the 8800gt right now since I already have an nvidia card. I am aware that currently because of the driver the core image processing on this card is not as fast as the 3870. Also I have heard of people's systems crashing with the 8800gt. Has this been fixed?

To highlight the main points I am looking for a card that:
    1. Is stable and doesn't freeze the gui/crash.
    2. Is faster than the 7300gt.
    3. Is compatible (ati and nvidia together?)
    4. Is quiet. (I heard that the 1900 and 2600 had loud fans.)

I appreciate any help, and I apologize for such a long question on my first post. Thank you.

2. G5isAlive macrumors 6502

I just bought the radeon 3870

I placed my order for the Radeon 3870 on Thursday, waiting for it to arrive. The reason I did not buy the 8800gt (even though I DO play games and its supposed to be great at games) is that I also work in Aperture and iMovie.