Advice needed: iMac not booting up

Discussion in 'iMac' started by whooshbong, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. whooshbong macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    i was using my iMac last week, the screen went pixelated and hashed and none responsive. I switched it off and on and it happened again after about a minute. Since then I’ve not been able to get past the boot screen. It gets about 2/3rds along the progress bar and stops.

    I can’t get into the recovery mode or diagnostic menu. I can choose the boot menu for boot camp but it crashes out when loading windows.

    Tried using a usb stick to recover and reinstall but still can’t get past the boot screen.

    Model is the 2012 iMac. Apple reseller says it’s a vintage model so no parts but could be logic or graphics card.

    My question is, is this worth trying to fix and anyone got an idea about what it might be?
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Sounds like a graphics failure.

    Have you tried internet recovery? (NOT "the recovery partition)
    Press the power-on button and hold down "command-OPTION-R" until the internet symbol appears.

    WHY I'm asking you to try this:
    If it suddenly boots, this could indicate that it's a "drive-related" problem (which it probably is not)
    If you get the same problems, then again it points toward "hardware OTHER THAN the drive".

    A 2012 is now "7 years old".
    Any money you would put towards a repair (unless it was quite cheap) would probably be better spent on something new...
     
  3. OSX_rulez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    Your Apple reseller should use the Apple Service Diagnostic software to check all the hardware of your iMac, so at least you could know what's wrong and if it is worth to repair. If it's the GPU you can try to reflow it (search on YouTube) or find a "new" card.
     
  4. whooshbong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I get about as far as the picture in booting up before it stops. Tried internet recovery but just get a continually spinning globe.

    The local Apple reseller just said they couldn’t service it as it’s a vintage model. Apple no longer make parts and they order parts as needed so no extra in stock. They suggested trying another reseller. I know there is one in Nottingham so might give them a ring tomorrow.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Coconutcreampie macrumors member

    Coconutcreampie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Location:
    NY America
    #5
    You say it gets to that screen "and stops," but what happens after it stops? Does it stay on that screen? Does the iMac shut down? More details.

    Is it the original drive? Is it an HDD?

    Plug in an Ethernet cable to your router and try Internet Recovery again. Give it a little time when you see the globe.
     
  6. whooshbong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It seems to stop and do nothing, no excess noise or clunking. Tried getting into safe mode the bar progresses a bit further, to about 90%. The hard drive was replaced last year by authorised Apple reseller. Tried plugging into Ethernet not giving me any option other then wireless.
     
  7. OSX_rulez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    Start in single mode (cmd-s) and report where it stops.
     
  8. whooshbong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Don’t know if that is readable from the picture
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #9
    Just wondering, may be a totally irrelevant question:
    Do you have anything in the SD card slot?

    Why I asked:
    The last line I see in one image above is:
    "root@ pci pause: SDXC"
    May have NOTHING to do with the SD card slot, but you never know...
     
  10. OSX_rulez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    OK and what about in Verbose mode (cmd-v)? What OS are you booting from, High Sierra or a previous one? I had a similar problem one year ago, and it was not easy to fix but there was a working method.
    Let me know if after "root@ pci pause: SDXC" you see something like "opendirectoryd: Too many corpses being created" or "qmasterd...", in this cases I can give you a few links to solve without formatting.
     
  11. whooshbong, Jun 10, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019

    whooshbong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Nothing connected at all apart from the Ethernet cable.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 10, 2019 ---
    About 2/3 of way down it talks about the fusion three shut down. Is that anything?

    Also near the bottom of the second image it says unsupported cpu twice.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 10, 2019 ---
    This is with cmd v.

    Nothing after the root@ line.
    Booting the lastest version - high Sierra?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

10 June 8, 2019