Advice on 2nd monitor

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by gsusser, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. gsusser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    jersey city
    #1
    I'm looking for about a 27" monitor for my MacBook Air. I like the Apple monitor but it seems very expensive. Are there any special considerations I need to take if buying a 3rd party monitor? And recommendations? Thanks.
     
  2. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #2
    No one can give you a recommendation unless you tell people what's it for. Gaming, photography editing, digital video or just browsing the Internet.
    Let people know first, then we can help you.
     
  3. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #3
    Look at the price of 27" IPS monitors by other brands most are in the 900-1000$ range.

    with the exception of Korean displays.
     
  4. gsusser thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    jersey city
    #4
    Mostly the internet and MS Office... no gaming, photo or digital video.
     
  5. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #5
    What size and resolution?
     
  6. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #6
    Why not use your iMac as a display? If you have a 2011 iMac, you can use Target Display mode.
     
  7. gsusser thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    jersey city
    #7
    27", 1080 res

    The whole point is to sell my iMac... I find having the 2 computers to be kind of a waste. But now that I look at what I can get for my iMac, which is roughly $1000 or a little more, it might make sense to keep it and use it as a monitor.
     
  8. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #8
    Sell the iMac for 1000$
    Buy a display for 200$ pocket 800$
     
  9. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #9
    Understood. I just think the 27" display is probably the best you can get out there, and since you already have it, you wouldn't have to sell something to immediately spend that money on essentially what you just sold haha

    Does any one know if connecting a Thunderbolt MBA to a Thunderbolt iMac would allow use of the iMac's USB ports/NIC etc? That would be just about awesome.
     
  10. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #10
    it should AFAIK connecting the MBA to the iMac makes it act like the TBD which also has ethernet and USB ports.
     
  11. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #11
    That's fairly bad ass. Makes me wanna find a deal on a 2011 iMac.
     
  12. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #12
    It does not work like that, unfortunately.

    Can I use the built-in camera or connect USB, ThunderBolt, or FireWire devices to my iMac when in TDM and have them work on my main computer?

    A supported iMac works like any other external display while it is in Target Display mode, except that you cannot access its built-in camera or USB, ThunderBolt, and FireWire ports. To use external devices while in TDM mode, connect those devices to the computer the iMac in TDM is connecting to.
     
  13. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
  14. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #14
    I dont get it connecting a macbook to a TBD allows you to use the ports but connecting a macbook to an iMac in target display mode doesnt. :confused:
     
  15. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #15
    Correct. It does not.
     

Share This Page