Advice on a UPS or Surge Protector for new HD system?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by majordude, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #1
    I have ordered a HD system (it hasn't been installed yet) from DirecTV and was just looking around for a surge proctor or UPS.

    Do I need one with coaxle connections?

    I have 40" and 32" Sony's being delivered this weekend. If I get a UPS, what size do I need? 500?

    I've been recommended the Tripp Lite HT10DBS but that is only a surge protector.

    Help! I understand Macs but this HD home theater stuff is confusing! :confused:
     
  2. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #2
    Just stay away from anything made by Monster and you'll be OK.

    APC makes some nice UPS's for a TV, but do you really need that?

    I know the folks in the Midwest have the occassional problem with lightning storms and surges, I've never had one. If you live in one of those areas, it wouldn't hurt to run the Coax cable through it as well.
     
  3. LeoFio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Like the previous poster said, a UPS will prob be unnecessary for non-computer related applications. They are only needed for backup to prevent data loss during a power outage.

    I would recommend what I have: APC H15 Power Conditioner. They look nicer and are better built IMO than the monster power centers. Shop around to find the lowest price since they are relatively expensive on APC's website.
     
  4. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #4
    Wow, those things are expensive! I think I might just stick with the surge protector! :eek:
     
  5. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    I think that any large HDTV would suck the juice out of a UPS battery within a couple of seconds. And it doesn't matter to preserve the tv in a blackout--you won't lose any data.

    Dunno about DirectTV. I know on my Tivo I have one because restarting takes 5 minutes, and the power supply is very finicky. If DirecTV takes a while to reboot, it might be worth it for that. FWIW, pretty much all APC units have some outlets that use the battery and others that don't . . . anything that doesn't need a battery should be plugged into the other outlets to preerve the battery live in a blackout.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Remember, with a line conditioner with AVR you are getting more or less uninterrupted power.

    With a cheap $50-75 UPS, you are getting a device that isn't much more useful than a surge suppressor.

    Likely the super-cheap UPS with only battery backup, won't trip for the most dangerous power conditions and don't always clamp on and provide power without shutting down the electronics on the circuit.

    We've had people on Macrumors complain that they bought a UPS and the computer still shuts off when the power flickers.
     
  7. butang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    CA, USA
  8. dbwie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    #8
    Apc

    I have my entertainment center connected through an APC UPS device. I choose this option because 1) my computer and cable modem (next to my AppleTV) is part of the entertainment center and I want battery backup for that, 2) it has 10 outlets, and I needed to use all of them, most surge protectors have 6-8 outlets, 3) it had coaxial and ethernet cable connections, so everything coming in to my entertainment center passed through the device.

    You can get #2 and #3 above from a $20 - $60 surge protector, without battery backup. I chose the APC UPS because of #1.

    I have the computer, cable modem, and appleTV plugged into the battery backup connections, and others connected to the surge protector connections.
     
  9. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #9
    I just went to Staples and found the CyberPower 425VA UPS on clearance for $25 each! :eek: I grabbed two. I'll use those for the DVRs. :D

    Now I'll just get some surge protectors for the TVs. :cool:
     

Share This Page