Advice on air travel

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gan6660, Aug 6, 2009.

1. gan6660 macrumors 65816

gan6660

So Wensday I am leaving on a trip for Arizona. The last time I went on an airplane was to Florida in 2001. I never took any electronics with me since I was only 9. I am going to take my MBP, ipod touch, psp and maybe my dsi. Now since these are all carry ons do I have to take each one out of my bag? Will I have to turn my MBP on? The MBP will be inside an incase sleeve which will be inside a cheap bag my mom got free from staples so I think ill just throw my other stuff in there as well. Now should I take my charger with me on the carry on or in my suitcase? Will I have any problem with security using this bag? Since this is my first time on a plane after Sept. 11th I am kind of nervous.

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

Only the notebook needs to be taken out and if you get a special TSA machine you could get lucky.

3. 11800506 macrumors 65816

All you have to do is take the computer out of the bag and out of the sleeve and you'll be fine.

4. gan6660 thread starter macrumors 65816

gan6660

So they just want to see the computer and I dont have to turn it on?

5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

Usually, no, you don't have to turn it on.

6. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

Nope, just take the computer out and put it in a separate tray, you can leave it in your sleeve, everything else can be left in the bag.

7. old-wiz macrumors G3

Some TSAs will make you turn it on if they are suspicious.

8. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Honestly, the amount of times I've flown with a notebook alongside the number of times people carry on laptops per day ... TSAs rarely ask this of you.

9. theJamie macrumors member

Usually they won't ask you to remove it from the sleeve, so I would leave it in the sleeve.

10. Apple Corps macrumors 68030