Advice on buying a new MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by will waters, Sep 29, 2011.

1. will waters macrumors regular

Hi

I was looking at buying an new MBP for different things e.g. Final cut pro X, Virtual DJ iPhoto and obviously Word/pages, I currently do not own a gaming console (ps3, X box 360 etc), and as i am still a student (at boarding school) so being able to game would be really good (games like battlefield 3 and COD MW 3), i am also on a limited budget of about £1000 and i would like a 13 inch, which one would you suggest or should i wait until the new ones come out in 2012
    Thanks Will

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

You kind of limited yourself to a 13" laptop, so that leaves you with either a MacBook Air or a 13" MacBook Pro. Neither one of them have a discreet GPU and if you intend to do more then casual gaming I'd say you could possibly choose better. Your budget is also the limiting factor as well.

If you only have a budget of £1000 that puts you squarely in the base 13" MBP or the MBA. I'd say go with the MBP if you want the optical drive and upgradable storage otherwise the MBA makes a great laptop

3. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

For MW3 I would recommend a 15" MBP with 6750M at least.
    But for BF3 you should get a gaming notebook because even the 6750M will probably just barely play that at somewhat decent details.
    You'd want a 460M or better for BF3.

4. Young Spade macrumors 68020

If you want to play games, and you have a grand, get a desktop. If you need portability, look at the Windows side, e.g. Alienware or something.

As the first post stated, you won't be able to play those games with the 13 inch variant of the MBP, let alone the MBA which is even lower spec'd.

I love games as much as the next guy, but when it came down to it, I ended upg etting the MBP as it plays "current" (Portal 2, etc.) games "ok" and that's all I could pay for.

5. will waters thread starter macrumors regular