Advice on Buying an iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by FredT, Sep 26, 2008.

1. FredT macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm going to buy a new iMac because

1) My whole family is currently using the MacBook in my house (no one wants to use the Windows machine :)) and it would be nice to have a second decent computer

2) I'd rather get the desktop because I already have the portability of the MacBook and I want the extra screen space an iMac provides

Now here is the problem. I am currently debating on which iMac to get. First off, I will be using the computer for a lot of web design and programming. I'm not a pro or anything like that though, I'm a high school student and I use web design to make a little money. I am using all the web related CS3 programs to do that stuff. I also use Final Cut Express on occasion for school projects or just fooling around with my friends on some videos. Those are the most strenuous things I will be doing, the rest of it just the basic Safari, Mail, Word, etc.

I would really like a 24" screen because I often run out of room on my little 13" MacBook (in Final Cut, Flash, and Illustrator in particular) and that really annoys me. After checking the iMacs in the Apple Store, I thought the 20" was a nice size, then I looked at the 24" and after that the 20" always looked small :p. My mom wasn't a fan of the 24" because she thought it would be too large for the room we are going to put it in. But that is irrelevant, what I am really concerned about here is the screen size vs. the specs for the price. I want to stay around (or below) $1500. In addition, my dad gets a discount at the Apple store so he is a state employee. That generally knocks off about $100 or $150.