Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Richdj

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 24, 2008
Guys
my first thread ......
i know there a re many threads about this..... the new MBP
but i just need advice.
Im currently a PC Laptop user (spit i know), my Sony Vaio was stolen 3 weeks ago in a burglary at my house, i had made the desicion a while back that i would upgrade to mac next time i got a new machine as vista was a no go for me!
Im a freelance camera operator and have decided i need to learn Final cut pro for work purposes
Ive made the desision to buy the 2.4ghz Macbook pro and put 4gb ram in it and buy Final Cut Studio 2.
So as you can see im spending a hell of a lot, it will be my first mac.
My friend told me to wait till the expo which i did, no new MBP but now i read there may be a new one out, the improved chip will make a real difference to me for video editing (6mb cache instead of 3)...... So do i wait or do i buy now ...im currently without a laptop and using my old desktop... im not in a desperate rush... but if im still laptop less by march ill prob be p'd off.... similarly i have really bad luck lately and if im spending the amount i am, i want the best i can have... ill be gutted if i buy one now then i 2 weeks a new one is born!!! ...... ive read the other threads... buy now, dont buy now .... i know no one really knows but any advice on if i should wait or rush down to my local apple store tomorrow and snap one up.... bearing in mind what im using it for...
thanks guys, looking forward to being part of a new forum as im no longer a vaio family boy! =0(

capitanbuzo

macrumors 65816
Jul 17, 2007