Advice on early 11 MacBook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shan5742, Apr 22, 2016.

1. Shan5742 macrumors newbie

Shan5742

I have the chance to buy a early 11 15 inch MacBook Pro at a steal. It's the 2.2 Ghz i7.

I was after some advice as I've never used a Mac before and I'm concerned these are a little old now.

Can they easily be upgraded or am I better off just forking out a little more for something newer?

Or maybe these are still great machines in their own right.

2. RichardC300 macrumors 65816

RichardC300

I have the 2.2 GHz early-2011 15" MBP, and to this day, it's still a beast. I've upgraded to 8 GB of RAM and threw in an SSD, though. Other than the battery getting a little old, I have zero complaints and haven't had any issues for the 5 years that I've owned it.

Some people have issues with the graphics card, but Apple has a repair program that is in effect until this December. You'll find many complaints on this website about that issue, but it's a very small percentage of MBPs out there that have developed this problem. I have had no problems with my GPU.

If you're getting a REALLY good deal, like $400 or less, I'd say go for it. If not, get something newer.

3. Shan5742 thread starter macrumors newbie

Shan5742

Thanks for the input. Haha you're right on the money with $400. Guy wanted $450 but will take $400.

I was just worried that it is fairly dated. Although upgrading memory and to an ssd shouldn't cost too much.

My usage is fairly light. I'm a freelance writer, so will be mostly used for surfing the web, doing research and what not and then writing pieces.

No gaming, minimal video etc.

4. matt_on_a_mtn Suspended