Advice on first mac(book) purchase

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by 007p, Jun 19, 2014.

1. 007p macrumors 6502a

I am struggling to decide on what to purchase for my first mac. The main reason to do so is for ios development – I have a fairly decent (windows) desktop for gaming and any other ‘heavy lifting’ I need to do, so the main thing I’m looking to do with it would be ios development.

At first I was looking at the Mac Mini, but given the lack of updates and (imo) how close macbooks can be in price, I’m thinking I might prefer to get a macbook and gain the mobility advantage over being tied to a desk. I think I’m looking at three options atm;

• 13 inch MBA – maxed out.
    • 13 inch MBP – 256/8gb ram.
    • Stretching to a base 15 inch MBP if needs be

I wouldn’t say I was a beginner at xcode but also not at a high level yet either. These are the main things I'm concerned about atm;

How is the 13 inch MBP screen in terms of xcode?

I have read mixed opinions on it. Possibly have to change the resolution? I plan on hooking it up to a proper monitor for any long sessions so I’m not too worried if its not the most ideal screen for long every day sessions, but rather better than the air for the intermittent session away from a monitor.

How hot do these things run?

Understandably, if you were to start getting the processor up to 100% then its going to get hot, so probably a better way of putting it is, how hot do these things get whilst doing light/’average’ coding? I worry about heat, not because it will damage the components just because I don’t like it, but I’m not completely sure how much stess xcode projects can be on the processor (obviously it varies). It seemed alright in my VM tests but way too sluggish for anything major (expected). For anyone that has used both, does the 13 inch MBP run cooler than the 15 inch or vice versa?

How important is quad core and/or 16gb ram for the average xcode project?