Advice on getting a Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Martron, Mar 5, 2008.

1. Martron macrumors regular

So I'm finally going to be able to get a mac computer after many years of hating Dell. I probably won't be getting it for at least 2 months and am planning on getting a Macbook. My question is that I've been reading a possible upgrade is slated for June on the MB. What does this upgrade supposedly entail and is it worth waiting for? I know that there aer constant "upgrade rumors" for macs, but I dont wanna be one of the dopes who buys one in may and then the upgrade is in June. but I also dont want to wait and then june turns to july, etc. So what's some good advice? I don't really need a hugely powerful computer, use it mostly for everyday stuff, prob garage band..things like that. I'm not a graphic designer...

2. Fezzasus macrumors regular

The Macbooks were upgraded last week, you're certainly not going to see an upgrade soon and all the tasks you mention can easily be done on a current macbook. buy it

3. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

lostfan916

Well, you can read some articles that were posted on the first page. Obviously none of us know when and what the updates will be, but it is speculated that the new intel chips will be put to use. Other than that, not much is known.

If you're going to wait for 2 months you'd just have to wait one more month... but like you said, june will turn to july, etc. It's a fun game, isn't?

4. balk macrumors member

I am one of those dopes.... I bought my MacBook 15 days before the latest update. Yep, one day too late for returning it. But guess what: I am happy with all aspects, especially after I upgraded memory to 2GB and HDD to a 200GB 7200rpm. The latter is not covered by the latest upgrade.

But, keep an eye on http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/#MacBook and read the headlines on this website. And remember: a computer is outdated the moment you order it :) ;)

5. johnnyp500 macrumors newbie

I had a feeling