Advice on getting an iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Razzosinni, Dec 25, 2013.

1. Razzosinni macrumors newbie

Hello.
    I've been using OS X for a couple of months on my 2013 MBA that I got back in July and I loved it ever since. I am planning to get rid of my current Windows PC. I want to get an iMac in the upcoming weeks as my primary machine.

I am considering a maxed out 21.5" iMac. 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM and an i7 3.1 GhZ processor. I am going to use it mainly for heavy music production and recording. And since I want to use it in the next 4 or 5 years, I want to future-proof it as much as possible.

Firstly, I wanted to go with the 27" model because of the screen resolution and the fact that I could go all the way up to 32GB RAM thanks to the user upgradeable slots. But as soon as I put the two side by side, I realised that the 27" is overkill for me in terms of real screen estate. I also have a small desk and workspace, and I don't know how I would manage. I always thought that if in the next couple of years a 1080p resolution won't be enough, I can hook up a second monitor at anytime. But the RAM upgrade and the faster CPU and GPU got me thinking.

Then, there is the Fusion vs SSD thing. I don't know if I should go for the 1TB Fusion Drive or for an 256GB SSD, since I have a lot of external HDDs that I can store everything I need on. Will there be noticeable differences in performance between flash memory and the Fusion Drive?

What about RAM? Do I actually need more than 16GB? It seems overkill for me, as on my previous PC, all my audio editing software ran flawlessly at 8GB RAM, but as I said, I am trying to future-proof this baby.

What do you think?

2. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

fastlanephil