Advice on managing data b/tn MBP and iMac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DrWhiteFPS, May 8, 2008.

1. DrWhiteFPS macrumors member

Hello all:

Newbie here. Planning on buying a MBP this summer when the next gen model comes out. But just had a baby girl and dying to get my hands on a mac to manage all of the videos and pictures.

I'm thinking of buying an iMac to have a home for video editing etc and for the wife, then will use the MBP eventually for most of my work rel uses.

My question to those who have both systems is how do you manage your data updates? Time capsule? Ext HD?

Would love to have your insight...

Thanks!

2. xpovos macrumors 6502a

xpovos

Lots of ways to do this, some simpler and more efficient than others.

The most transparent way is to invest in a paid Internet-based synchronization service like SugarSync (http://www.sugarsync.com). They sell packages with storage capacities up to 250GB, which would be helpful, given the type of files you're talking about managing. Because of the sizes of your files, though, this may also be slower than you would like.

Apple's .Mac service ($99/yr) comes with an Internet-based storage solution called "iDisk". Similar in functionality to SugarSync, except that with iDisk you have to store the files you want synchronized in a particular location (the iDisk volume), whereas with SugarSync you can tell the application which directories, anywhere on your hard drive, you want to keep in sync. iDisk is limited by default to 10GB of storage, with paid capacity upgrades available.