Advice on purchasing Macbook for college

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by twilliams9476, May 10, 2010.

1. twilliams9476 macrumors member

I am purchasing a Macbook for college. No question about it. But I need advice on what different things to add to it, such as extra memory, applications, etc...

What are your opinions on the 2gb memory vs. the 4gb memory?
    250gb hard drive vs. 300gb hard drive?
    Microsoft office for mac?
    Applecare Protection plan?

I am going to be a Political Science major, so I am going to be doing many research papers, essays, etc. I will also be doing the typical college stuff on it: internet, pictures, occasional powerpoints, rare spreadsheet, music, etc. These are the questions that haunt me. Feel free to add in any extra advice you have, because I am completely new to buying a mac because I have owned only PC's my entire life. I have played with Macs before, but never owned one, or bought one. Thank you!

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

So cheap you might as well.

Virtually no difference. Internal storage FTL, in my opinion.

Probably a good idea.

Always a good idea.

The Back-to-School promotion shoudl be starting soon; I'd wait for that so you get a rebate on an iPod if they do it this year.

3. misterwebmaster macrumors newbie

Backup!

The most important thing you should do is get an external hard drive to back up your files via Time Machine.

I have one hooked up to my router via usb, so as long as my macbook is in range of the router, it backs up without needing to plug in any cables.

I would max out your RAM to 4 GB - big upside versus minimal cost.

I got the upgraded 500 GB hard drive and I regret the decision. For the same price I could have gotten an a third-party 1 TB hard drive and installed it myself. Then again, self-installation is always easier said than done.