Advice on rMBP 13" vs rMBP 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aaddn, Nov 5, 2014.

1. aaddn macrumors newbie

Hi guys,
    yes, another thread about 13" and 15" rMBP Mid 2014. :rolleyes:

I'm a designer and a programmer who mainly makes iOS apps and web apps (full stack), from the concept to realization.

Sketch, Photoshop, Illustrator, Sublime Text, Xcode are the most used apps and I recently learned to use a bit of After Effects.

Of course I can define myself a pro-user and that's why I always loved my MBP so far (early 2008 and late 2011).

I've always used 15" MBP and I've almost always stayed and worked from home. In the next months I will be probably traveling around the world staying and working in different places (coffee shops, hotels, etc).

That what leads to the big dilemma of 13" or 15" rMBP.

I already spent hours in an Apple Store but it didn't seems to help.

Currently I'm working on my 15" MBP with the hi-res configuration, 1680x1050.

The 13" rMBP has the same resolution (in scaled mode of course).

I know that the 13" is incredibly portable and so comfortable to bring around with you but I'm so afraid that the same resolution of my current MBP with a smaller display would be uncomfortable for me, especially for design and stuff related.

My current MBP weighs around 2.5kg, the 13" rMBP is around 1.5kg and the 15" rMBP is around 2kg.

Whatever I'll choose it will be between this configurations:

- 13" rMBP i7 3.0 Ghz - 16GB RAM
    - 15" rMBP i7 2.8 Ghz - 16GB RAM

Important question: does the 15" 2.8 Ghz will consumes more battery than the "base" 2.5 Ghz? The battery is really important for me.

What would you recommend? You think that for my use case the 13" will be fine? Or should I buy the 15" (getting even more space).

Thanks a lot guys!
    A

2. gugy macrumors 68030