Advice on the right USB Audio Interface for my budget

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by oozeymc, Oct 16, 2010.

1. oozeymc macrumors newbie

Hi,

I've recently got an iMac and via Garageband have had my eyes opened to the potential for my Mac to be used as a sort of amateur recording studio. I say amateur, because whilst being an experienced guitarist I'm not the most technically minded or able of people!

After playing around recording my guitar and voice just analogue with the iMac's microphone, I've seen that I basically need a USB Audio Interface to achieve any sort of decent quality.

My questions is: given my budget of c£200, what should I be looking at to achieve a good result for my simplistic guitar and voice style. I obviously need something that integrates well with Garageband, which looks to me like a fantastic programme to be included for free and is probably better for my limited technical capacity than something like Logic or Pro Tools! My music style is very much old fashioned rock/folk/pop - along the lines of the Beatles, the Stones, the Kinks and the La's - so I'm not going to be needing anything particularly advanced, I don't think.

I've seen the Apogee Duet, which looks very nice, but is a little more than I was wanting to pay really. Has anyone got any recommendations for me to help me out? Or is the Apogee Duet worth the wait and the extra 100 beans?

Cheers!

2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

Rule #1:
    If you have a new iMac, you have a firewire port. Whatever interface you get, MAKE SURE it is firewire-based, and _is not_ USB. For audio recording, firewire provides a much smoother means of connection -- lower latency, higher bandwith. Perhaps the most important reason to "go firewire" is that there are no "driver conflicts" (firewire interfaces connect via the "CORE Audio drivers" that are built into the Mac OS). USB interfaces require 3rd-party "drivers", and some users have had no end of headaches due to driver conflicts and problems.