Advice on used MacPro 3.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mongeta, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. mongeta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I have the oportunity to buy a MacPro 3.1 2x2.8 Xenon, 8 GB Ram (4 x 2GB, 4 slots free), 2 TB hard disk, for 2.069$$, and applecare valid for one year.

    Is this a good price for this machine ?

    I'm not in a hurry to buy a MacPro, maybe I should wait and get a new Pro once they are out, or maybe I can buy this, sure the new ones will be more expensive.

    I'm planing to use it as a database backend server with postgres, Xcode with big projects, other developer tools, virtual windows (VMWare), and mount my HD video collection with FCP X. Currently I own a MBP Core 2 Duo and it's a pain :)

    Also I have a MacMini Server i7 QuadCore as a media server and postgres server, but I want to have a 'decent Mac'.

    I also have a very old G5 that has Ubuntu Server installed ...

    Well, tha main question is if this machine is good enough for the price they ask. I've put the price in $$ but the real price is in Euro.

    thanks for the advice,

    regards
     
  2. Marcush1286 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #2
    Hi, unless you are looking for the latest and greatest, the 2008 Harpertown Mac Pro is a great value and its because of the fact it was the 1st mac pro to boot 64-bit kernel for both Windows 7 and also Snow Leopard and Lion. It is because of EFI64 the reason to consider it as still a viable machine. You can't go wrong with it as the next set of video cards will still work with the 08,09 mac pros and 2010 since AMD uses EBC firmware to ensure backwards compatibility with the older mac pros. I am not so sure about the 06, and 07 mac pros though.



     
  3. mongeta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #3
    And It has a correct value for being a 2008 machine?

    I know it's a good machine :)

    thanks,



     
  4. seclusion macrumors regular

    seclusion

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #4
    I just picked one of these up.
    Sold my 1.1 for $800 with 9 gigs of ram.
    Bought a 3.1 2.8, 8 core for $900 (2 gigs of ram)
    So $300 I bought 2 X4 gigs and plunked in my other drives.
    All is great, no issues, rock solid.
    I'd be talking down the $$ a bit though
    B
     
  5. mongeta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #5
    www.mac2sell.com says it cost 1950,00 $$$

    Maybe in USA you have more used MacPro, but in Spain not, it's a 'rare machine' :D really I can't find many options ...



     
  6. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    Yes, that price would be a bit steep for here in the US (especially if it has the stock Radeon card), but I can't speak for Spain.

    The machines themselves are great (I own a 3,1 with dual 2.8s), but the RAM upgrades are pretty expensive compared to the DDR3 used by the newer machines. Plus, unless the machine has AppleCare coverage remaining, you're on your own for hardware repairs, which can be expensive on any Mac.
     
  7. hina2526 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    #7
    My friend is planning on moving there,next year for college.She has visited many times and loves it there.
     
  8. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #8
    That's around 1500 euro right?

    I've paid 1600 euro for my new in box 2009 Mac Pro 8 core 2.26 GHz with GT 120 graphics, 6GB RAM and a 640GB hard disk (1 year warranty with the option to extend using AppleCare).

    Maybe that helps you to decide wether the price is right.
     
  9. mongeta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #9
    When did you paid ?

    Recently ?

    And it was completely new ?

    Mine or the one I want has still one year of AppleCare

    Also in the Apple Store Spain it's very, very, very rare to find a refurbished MacPro also ...

    ----------

    where in Spain ?
     
  10. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #10
    About 2 weeks ago, brand new in the box. I had to contact Apple to "activate" the first year of warranty because the machine had never been registered with Apple.

    Bought it on eBay from the UK.
     
  11. mongeta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #11
    maybe they have more to sell ??? :D:D:D

    thanks ...
     
  12. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #12
    Can't find them anymore for that price, sorry. But keep searching for Mac Pro's on eBay, sometimes you can find killer deals there.
     
  13. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #13
    Keep looking in other european countries (e.g. the Mac market in Germany is comparably huge) - the savings may more than make up for the higher shipping cost!
     
  14. mongeta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #14
    Well, finally I have my own MacPro!!!!
    :D:D:D

    Now FCP X doesn't run because my graphic card is old, time to replace it
     
  15. zephonic macrumors 65816

    zephonic

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    greater L.A. area
  16. realitystops, Sep 26, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011

    realitystops macrumors regular

    realitystops

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Very North
    #16
    3.2 GHz Octo there now

    ,
    I know it is on ebay now because it's mine!

    sorry no link, and UK only, err maybe Spain :)
     
  17. mongeta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #17

    Thanks,

    I think with one MacPro is enough for me now :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page