Advice on using Gevey sim card

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Snoopy67, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. Snoopy67 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #1
    I've got an iPhone 3G (with 2.30.03 baseband) and would unlock and jailbreak it.

    So I bought a Gevey sim card.

    Could some kind soul give me some advice as to how to proceed?

    Should I first jailbreak the iphone, and then put in the gevey sim card? Or the other way round?

    And, which way should I place the gevey sim card? underneath or on top of the carrier's sim card?

    Thanks a lot in advance.

    Best regards,
    Gabriel.
     
  2. bigcletus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #2
    Well, it is pretty simple. You can only do it one way. You put your sim on top of the gevey sim and stick the thing in.

    Hope you have better luck than I have had with these unlock cards. I have a newly purchased 3g and I have tried rebel and now gevey and neither one would "unlock" the phone. I can only make emergency calls. I am going to return the iphone within the 30 day trial if I can't get this to work because I need it to work on t-mobile. Post back your results. Good luck.

    Edit: no need to jailbreak either by the way. I did it anyways but it did not help my situation on bit.
     
  3. Snoopy67 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #3
    Thanks, I figured it out.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't work with my 3G either.
    Tried a lot of things, to no avail.

    It keeps cycling from "searching.." to "no sim" to "no service" to service for a second, and then "searching" again ....

    Regards,
    Gabriel.
     
  4. bigcletus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #4
    so it never locks on to a carrier? Mine would find tmobile but it would only allow emergency calls out.

    I was able to get it working. It took a lot of googleing but basically, I had to delete the files that were created originally when it was activated with the att sim card and I also jail broke it a second time (which may have been all I needed to do). Then after a reboot it worked perfect. I think the rebel sim probably would have worked too if I done the same procedure.
     
  5. Snoopy67 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #6
    No, unfortunately not.

    Care to tell which files they were?
     
  6. Snoopy67 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #7
  7. bigcletus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
  8. edk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    #9
    mine works fine in 2G mode. Turn of the 3G.

    With 3G, I get the same issue.

    It's not really a big problem - so the download speed is slow... big deal... ;)
     
  9. oasis1971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #10
    Hi guys

    I put the gevey 3g sim into my Iphone and am on orange it seemed to be working ok then it would not receive calls or texts, only way to get texts was to ring someone and they all came through.

    Everytime someone rang they would just get my voicemail and now it wont connect at all

    does anyone have any ideas where i have gone wrong

    thanks
    oasis1971
     
  10. cvp028 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #11
    installed gevey 3g sim

    alright, i put in my gevey 3g sim and my att prepaid card. it found the att service quickly and the edge service. for some reason i still cant get on the internet, can someone please help me?
     
  11. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    Did ou jailbreak before you put the Gevey in? If you can only do nothing but make emergency calls, it sounds like you are on the Slide for Emergency screen.
     
  12. cvp028 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #13
    no i have not unlocked it. one quick question..what is the actual purpose of the gevey sim. and if i unlock my iphone will i be able to access the internet. i only activated my prepaid sim. i have not put any money in it and i am new at this so please help
     

Share This Page