advice on website and adsense

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by redgaz26, Aug 26, 2007.

  1. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    Hi all, I've been thinking of making a site for a while now and have been trying out a few things half heartily for a while, wanted it to be about both the family and apple. anyway here's the first real attempt. http://macscot.co.uk/macscot/Macscot.html
    I had other stuff up about apple but after visiting the new store yesterday thought this would be better.
    I have no idea about html so iweb it is, anyone like to give me their views?
    also I'm using transmit, even when you are only changing 1 or 2 things do you have to upload the entire site again? that's what I've been doing and it's a pain.
    other thing is I signed up for adsense, how do you paste it on my site, it's a html code?
     
  2. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #2
    "The requested URL /macscot/Macscot.html was not found on this server."
     
  3. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #3
    ok sorry about that have ran into some problems, switched over to cyberduck have uploaded all my files and still nothing
     

    Attached Files:

  4. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
  5. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #5
    That's a nice start. Your google adsense isn't working though. I'm not sure how you are adding it since I'm not familiar with iWeb, but typically scripts must actually be placed within the html code itself.
     
  6. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #6
    cool, google adsense now working but.....
    I tried to delete the html file and the folder of the homepage from cyberduck then add the edited html file(now with the addsense code) and folder but it didn't work, so I deleted the entire site from cyberduck and uploaded all again and it worked.
    is this the only way to do it?
     
  7. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #7
    got it sussed, instead of deleting I simply replaced the file and folder, at last getting somewhere.
     
  8. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #8
    Much better. Now you just have to work on position the google image closer to the left. I'm viewing your site on firefox, btw.
     

Share This Page