Advice on workflow for this flyer

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by djsound, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. djsound macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #1
    So lately I have been asked to do a few of these nightclub type flyers. The part of this I am focusing on in this thread is the misc. logos pasted onto the flyer....It is always a problem because the client never has anything in high dpi or eps' or anything....they always have a picture of the dj and some info but not images. They usually say to go look on the web...I CAN usually find the logos on the web but they are 72 dpi. The only thing I can think of is to retrace them in Illustrator but sometimes there are like 10 logos on a flyer and that would take a looong time. There must be some easier routine. Can anyone recommend anything?

    I have attached a flyer example.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #2
    Yes, charge them more.
     
  3. bluetooth, Aug 10, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011

    bluetooth macrumors 6502a

    bluetooth

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Nice work btw. Regarding the logo scenario, if they are registered brands or companies that are well known you may find them on sites like:

    http://www.brandsoftheworld.com/http://www.brandsoftheworld.com/search/logo/DJ

    http://www.seeklogo.com/tag.html?q=D.J

    If not, as noted above, charge the client more for your time if he insists on the logo's being clearer.

    Asking the client for the direct contact information of the companies involved in the promotion (logo's you are adding) may also get you a few .eps's but I wouldn't hold your breath...although it is worth a shot imo.
     
  4. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    This is a no-brainer. The client is always responsible to provide content UNLESS they are willing to pay for it to be recreated. Doesn't matter if you hire someone to shoot it/re-create it, do it yourself, go buy it from stock. All this things (other than the client providing it) should cost money. Even if you have to look for it on the web. Time is money!

    In all of my contracts it explicitly states that the client is financially responsible to provide content unless arrangements are made to HIRE me to create it. If I go to a stock site and grab an image, it has to be in the budget and I always markup the cost to cover my ass. Time is money!

    If a logo, image, or any other content is provided that doesn't meet the requirements of the job, I always call the client back and ask them how they want me to proceed. There are two options. First is, get the correct item to me. 2nd option is to hire me to fix the issue (if possible), or hire someone else to provide the content. If they say "... just go on the web and grab something". I counter with... "Okay, I'll get to that done soon as you sign-off on this change order, because it's going to cost you extra for my time." If they say, just use a lowrez version, I tell them no and suggest that I retrace it for a minimal cost. If they say no, then I finish the job and never work with them again.

    The only other option you would have is to bury the costs in your initial proposal if this happens frequently. Add a "content modification/research" fee into the job order. If they ask you what that is, just tell them it's to cover for all those additional costs that come up whenever you are trying to provide an excellent product.

    And the answer to your original question is probably to redo it in Illustrator for a reasonable fee. You might be able to get away with auto-trace if you're in a hurry.
     
  5. winston1236 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #5
    Tracing isnt difficult, you probably haven't spent much time with it if it is. I would recommend that you tell them the res quality problem, inform them you will have to recreate it, and of course how much more it will cost for you to do so.
     
  6. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #6
    thanks guys. Ya I guess I should just start practicing retracing. I know how I'm just not to quick with it yet. Then I could save a folder full of them . Maybe some will be reused. I cant get clients as easy as you THX and trying to explain eps's and vector graphics to some of these clients is like pulling teeth.

    So if I just retrace some logos and save them as separate eps' should I then create the whole flyer in illustrator? Importing the eps's? Or would you guys recommend InDesign. I'd like to limit the "importing and exporting" as much as possible...
     
  7. Contiguous, Aug 12, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011

    Contiguous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #7
    I'd do the background and photo as a composite in Photoshop, place it in Illustrator and do the text and logos over it. If you think you'll be redoing it at a later date, it's easier to change the information that way. No need to 'import' the logos into Illustrator, do all the tracing in Illustrator and put them directly into the document, no placing needed. Save a separate logo PDF for easier finding later in your files. Only thing you need to import is the background from Photoshop.

    As for better versions of logos, it's amazing what clients can come up with once you tell them how much it'll cost for you to redo something they can find themselves. However, I've redrawn a fair bit of logos in my time, and it doesn't take as long as you'd think. Most of my customers don't have a problem with an extra hour charge if they really want or need a vector version. Now, finding an obscure font....
     
  8. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #8
    Ya some of the fonts are the logos themselves ...and they are hand made fonts...which are not available to the public...so I would just have to retrace them. I guess I'll just start practicing and stop being lazy :eek: thanks
     
  9. bluetooth macrumors 6502a

    bluetooth

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    You can just drag vectors from AI window to PS window and also to ID window...you don't always have to go through the motions of importing from the menu et.

    All depends really on the flyer, since you are doing club flyers a lot of designers will do the entire layout in PS due to all the effects/images and will then import/drag vectors/.eps's/logo's they are given or created (if needed) into PS.

    The same goes for AI though, if the flyer is heavily vector based with no images/photos you can do the whole flyer in AI. Also comes down to what you are comfortable with but there is no reason why you cannot combine the two by simply dragging layers from AI to PS and vice versa et.

    ie.

    Vector/AI based flyers

    http://all-free-download.com/free-vector/free-vectors-psd-dj-club-flyer_page_3.html

    Photoshop based flyers

    http://www.vector-eps.com/index.php/2011/05/photoshop-club-flyer-template/
     
  10. Contiguous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #10
    Yeah, after further thought, you can do the whole setup in Photoshop. I mostly use Illustrator, so it's my default mode, but there's no reason why you can't keep the text editable in Photoshop. Effects are cumbersome in Illustrator anyways, and it's not like you're scaling things out to fit on billboards etc.
     
  11. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #11
    Wow I didn't realize you could drag eps's into photoshop! I just tried it...That rules...I think that will be my way of working from now on =) Thanks people
     
  12. Contiguous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #12
    Yeah, dragging is great - but it's using the Open command, not the Place command, so if you need to Place something you'll still have to use the menu. I really like opening CS files by dragging them onto the Dock icon - it's something that's missing in Windows.
     
  13. Mutinygraphiks macrumors regular

    Mutinygraphiks

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    placing files is really unnecessary as open allows full editing without a background for vectors, .ai files, .pdf's etc. I am a graphic designer for 9 night clubs in Vegas and New York and do all of this day in day out in a fast paced environment.
     
  14. Contiguous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #14
    I use it when working on a file since I've got to keep modifying the background as well as the foreground in my line of work and the live updating saves me time. Once it's done, the final file is opened, not placed, in, since I hate missing links as much as the next person.
     
  15. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #15
    ..Can you get me a job? ;)
     

Share This Page