Advice please: New iMac or new Mac mini?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MrLee, Oct 24, 2012.

1. MrLee macrumors newbie

Like many people here, I've been waiting a long time for the new iMac. My 2006 model is on its last legs, and a new machine is a necessity.

Now that the new iMac has been announced, however, I'm not 100% convinced it's the right machine. As good as it looks, the decision of form over power seems a strange one.

Anyway, I use my computer for editing a lot of RAW photos in Lightroom and Photoshop. That's the most it's pushed. Something my current Mac now struggles with...

But with new Mac minis packing a good bit of power and a fusion drive, would I be better off getting one of them and a Thunderbolt display?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

2. blanka macrumors 68000

Get the Mini. The iMac wont arrive at your door this year.

3. jonnyback macrumors member

I am in the same position. I am a photographer and have borrowed a MacBook Pro to work on til the iMac arrives (not ideal on 13" screen, but I only buy new computers every 3-4 years so I am going to wait for the sake of a more powerful machine).

If you are going to max out either I would definitely wait, due to higher spec possible with the iMac (I'm talking graphics and processor).

Another big bonus of the iMac vs the Mini+Thunderbotl Display is the new iMac screen with less glare (....which is not getting enough praise after the amount of people that have complained about it!)

A lot of people MacRumors will always convince you to 'buy now and not wait' but if your last buy was in 2006, a couple of months of struggling is worth it when you get a better machine.

4. mdgolom macrumors 6502