Advice re setup of new (used) MP 2010

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by camner, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. camner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #1
    I just replaced my old MP 1,1 with an MP 5,1. It came preinstalled with a boot drive full of software (mostly video/audio stuff, some pretty high end). As I received it, the boot drive is about 260GB (!).

    I don't need all this software, but I'd like to keep some of it, at least.

    I also want to use an SSD (which I already have) for the boot drive. The SSD is 180GB, and I know I shouldn't have the SSD crammed too full.

    The question is how do I set up this system so I can keep the software I want and still trim the system down so it fits reasonably on my SSD?

    I don't have the installer disks for much of this software....

    One idea I had was to do a fresh install of ML on a HD and use Setup Assistant to move the new drive (with the preinstalled software) and then 1 by 1 delete the software I don't need (using something like AppDelete or iTrash) until things get down to a reasonable size.

    Is there a better way?

    [A second question....is there a way to force software to be installed in the user Applications folder instead of the main system App folder as a way to keep less used apps (I have lots of them!) off the SSD?]

    [And finally a third question....if I use Setup Assistant the way I describe above, can I also use Migration Assistant later to move my existing, old MP 1,1 stuff to a different user?]
     
  2. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    When you do a fresh install of Mountain Lion to your SSD it will give the option to transfer files, apps and settings from another Mac, select your other drive. Simply select the Apps you want transferred instead of highlighting the whole Apps option.
     
  3. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #3
    If you didn't get the installer disks, then the seller still has them, and he can still use them on his computers. What you have is effectively unlicensed copies.
    If someone sells a Mac with Creative Suite, then they should sell you Creative Suite and a Mac.

    You'll need to delete the apps you don't want, which will include their folders in /Library/Application Support. These files may hold the lion's share of files, and can't be moved to the user Library folder if you want to keep those apps.

    Migration Assistant/Setup Assistant isn't always very good at moving a lot of the high-end software which installs lots of support files in various places. Creative Suite needs reinstalling from disks. Even Logic doesn't Migrate well.
     
  4. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    Don't know about Creative Suite but I've transferred Photoshop CS6 to a different drive on the same machine using Migration Assistant without problems.
     
  5. camner thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #5
    Perhaps, but not necessarily so. I had an old Mac on which was running (a legal, purchased, installed version of) Office 2004. When Office 2008 came out I installed that (legally!). Then, as I was cleaning out old stuff I didn't want any more, I threw away the install disks of 2004, figuring I'd never want to reinstall it. When I sold the Mac, I deleted Office 2008 and sold the Mac with 2004. That seems to me to be within the spirit, at least, of the rules of the game. The Office 2004 install was on a single computer with no ability to be installed on others.
     

Share This Page