Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dougutphy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 19, 2012
Austin, TX
Hello everyone,

I've been using my 11" Air for about 8 months now and it has been the best thing I have ever purchased my entire life. So portable, powerful, reliable, etc etc...

This little machine is absolutely great for when I'm running around and need to pull stuff up, but when I'm just sitting working sometimes it just gets a little frustrating to be switching all over the place to the multiple windows I have open all the time (for example I like to be able to see all my terminal windows, just a personal preference :p)

I stole my brother's 23'' monitor last weekend just to see how it felt. I loved it, I would keep things I needed to reference on my Air's screen and keep all the stuff I was working with on the 23'' screen. Problem was, my Air started to run very hot. I knew it would heat up a little bit, but I wasn't expecting it to heat up as much as it was. Could it have been the particular display I was using?

Since that experience I think I want to go ahead and purchase a nice external display around 23''. Do any of you guys use something similar? what type would you recommend (Not looking for something up to caliber with the Apple Cinema)? Good/Bad experiences? Have you had heat problems? I have seen some threads about externals but these questions haven't really been answered for just a generic decent flat screen monitor.

Thanks!

tradman

macrumors member
May 15, 2008
Galway, Ireland
Hi dougutphy,
I'm looking to invest in a number of products to suport my photography and I'm also thinking of the non thunderbolt display to cut down on costs.