advice regarding OWC Thunderbay 4 RAID

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macaron95, Sep 15, 2014.

  1. macaron95 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #1
    Hi

    I already have a guardian maximus RAID enclosure with 2 x 4 TB drives inside

    I am now thinking about buying the new OWC Thunderbay 4 RAID enclosure

    if i buy 2 extra 4 TB HDD and combine them with the 2 i already owned, will they be erased ?


    thanks
     
  2. ColdCase, Sep 15, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    Most likely the drives would need to be reformatted, but OWC has support chat and email and would give you a more definite answer.
     
  3. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #3
    Short answer - Yes
    Back them up to another set of drives if possible or keep them as is and buy 4 new drives for the thunderbay.
     
  4. macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #4
    ok thanks for your response

    my budget is quite limited, that's why i'm asking, i can only afford the enclosure and 2 new drives at the moment, not more


    thanks
     
  5. macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #5
    btw i'm looking for a safe solution

    with 4 identical drives, should i use raid 1 or raid 10 ?
     
  6. hkoster1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    With Raid-1 you'll end up with 4 identical disks... is that the security level you need? I recommend Raid-10 (am using it myself), see http://pietrzyk.us/raid-10-using-mac-disk-utility/ for a guide on how to install it. I also had 2 old disks and 2 new ones; it stands to reason that you mirror an old one with a new one (twice), then stripe the two mirror sets.
     
  7. macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #7
    ok thanks

    if i install 4 drives of 4 Tb

    will i end up with around 8 tb with RAID 10 ?
     
  8. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #8
    Yes, but you'll lose all the data on the original 2 x 4TB drives you have in your Guardian Max...
     
  9. ColdCase, Sep 16, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #9
    How much data in one volume do you have or want? I'm assuming 8TB. With 4TB drives RAIDs like RAID 10s may make less and less sense than striping a pair (RAID 0) of drives and using something like CCC to backup that pair with another pair either in a striped or concatenated (spanned) format to get a 8TB volume.

    The advantage of concatenated is you don't loose everything when one drive fails, usually just the data stored there. It is slower than a RAID0 set, however, but does your use case need performance for data backup purposes?

    With this strategy, should there be any OS anomaly that corrupts drives or erases files, you have a good chance that the backup set is unaffected. You will have some history of files to recover so when you accidentally erase a file and empty the trash, it will still be there on the backup set.


    Just saying that perhaps buy your Thunderbay (the older Thunderbay IV is less money because it does not have the HW RAID built in) and install two drives. Use disk utility to set them up a striped RAID 0 , that gives you a 8TB volume. Copy your data from the guardian to the new RAID, that will give it a good infant mortality check. You could keep the old Guardian around, you can switch it to RAID0 or span (concatenated) that will give you a 8TB volume (the independent disk mode only works with fire wire). The advantage of using the guardian for your backup is that is an independent enclosure, giving you some protection against a Thunderbay box failure.

    Just saying there are a couple ways to skin that cat and it the better way depends on if you are looking for redundancy and backup or redundancy for availability (less down time). If you set the Guardian to independent disk mode, you could actually use Disk utility to RAID 0 the two drives there and then mirror the Thunderbay... but I wouldn't want to do it that way unless you are looking for high availability
     
  10. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #10
    The only difference between the two Thunderbays is one is TB, the other is TB2.

    The RAID solution OWC is offering with the Thunderbay is software based.
     
  11. macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #11

    for the moment i have 2 x 4 TB configured as RAID 1 so I only have 4 TB for storage

    i'm looking for having 8 TB in one enclosure

    this one seems well built and quite silent, and i already own OWC products so that's why i'm going for this one

    but i don't know which RAID to pick to optimize my storage space
     
  12. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #12
    From OWC - http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-drives/sata/RAID_Guide/Learn_About_RAID_5

    There are many places to learn, but it's a quick read. The SoftRaid ver5 pkg costs money, but it's worth it on boxes that don't have on-board controllers. I think OWC sells it for slightly less than retail packed with their 4 bay units.
     
  13. macaron95, Sep 16, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014

    macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #13
    is raid 5 more reliable than others ?

    i'm a bit lost in my readings :confused:
     
  14. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #14
    In the real world, RAID5 has lost favor since drives started exceeding 2TB. Someone references a well written article now and again here. Basically it takes so long to rebuilt (a day or so) that you likely will have another failure during the process and lose all the data.

    Use RAID5 only if you need the performance. Today, using RAID for reliability or backup is counter productive. RAID5 has its place in some enterprise and performance applications, however.

    ----------

    My bad, dunno where I got the idea that there was a HW RAID card in there...

    ----------

    I have one, make that two. They are a quality box, and now that they fixed the fan, very quiet. They are used and recommended by many here.
     
  15. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #15
    Now that drives are "inexpensive" the need to use RAIDs other than 0 or 10 to optimize storage space is of less consequence. Think of other versions of RAID as performance or enterprise applications where down time can be expensive..

    If you need less than 12TB in a single volume just use RAID0 and have a backup strategy for that 12TB. I use two 5TB drives in RAID0 that gives me 10TB of bulk storage. I have a OWC box with two 6TB drives in RAID0 that gives me 12TB to backup the current 10TB drive and have some room for archives. The other bays hold drives for other purposes.

    Given you only need 8TB, and 4TB drive are "cheap" and reliable. Don't mess with anything other than RAID0 or perhaps RAID10 (two sets of RAID0 drives that are mirrored).

    So you need to decided how you want to reuse old Guardian.

    1) Buy the Thunderbay and two 4TB drives, install the drives, use disk utility to RAID0 (stripe) them, copy files off your guardian to the new RAID0, pull the drives out of the guardian and put them in the Thunderbay, use disk utility to format them into another RAID0 pair. Then your choice to either use disk utility to mirror the pair or use something like CCC to periodically clone one RAID0 pair to the other RAID0 pair. You now have an empty Guardian box to reuse as you please.

    or
    2) Buy the Thunderbay and two 4TB drives, install the drives, use disk utility to RAID0 (stripe) them, copy files off your guardian to the new RAID0, set the Guardian to RAID0 which will reformat the drives. Then its your choice to either use disk utility to mirror the Thunder bay pair to the Guardian or use something like CCC to periodically clone the Thunderbay pair to the Guardian pair. You now have two empty drive bays use as you please.
     
  16. macaron95, Sep 16, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014

    macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #16
    well, thanks for your advices

    i'm still lost in my choices :(
     
  17. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #17


    I can agree. a 5 rebuild is slow.
     
  18. macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #18
    i'll probably go for 1+0 then

    it will give me half of the total storage and will be a good compromise between security and speed
     
  19. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #19
    Just to make sure, you do realise that you'll lose all the data on the 2 hard drives from the Guardian Max unit when you create these RAID sets?
     

Share This Page