Advice to Clone

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Michael73, Feb 23, 2009.

1. Michael73 macrumors 65816

Super simple question...

I've outgrown my 500GB HD - it's my boot drive. I picked up a 1.5TB drive at BB for a cool $119.99 that I want to replace it with. Since I have a MP, can I just slide the new drive into one of the other bays, format it, and then use SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner?

I've never used either program but it seems these are the most popular based on the comments in these forums. Does it matter which one I use e.g. is one better than the other?

I just need a single copy, no scheduling. I got a second 1.5TB drive that I'll be using at a TM drive.

2. dubhe macrumors 65816

dubhe

Now, I am not a pro, but I think that CCC copies files in alphabetical order, which means they are not in a logical order on the new disc. Does this not potentially make the drive slower?

If the above is true then surely a clean install of Leopard onto the new disc, and then Migration Assistant to copy files across would make more sense?

3. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

sickmacdoc

Yes, that will work just fine. Make sure when you format it that not only do you make it Mac OS Extended (Journaled) but also make sure a GUID partition table map is established too. If you need help with that, just shout.

As far as the differences between CCC and SD, they are for all intents and purposes cosmetic/personal preference issues as the final result is intended to be identical no matter which is used. I have and use both but tend to use CCC more just from simplicity. I've tested both recently using a 26Gb test data set to the same freshly formatted drive each time through and the speed is issue is almost identical. SD took about 46 minutes (slow because it was a USB drive) while CCC took about 43 minutes so close enough to call it a tie.