Advise on buying Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by simon.sagen, Jun 13, 2008.

1. simon.sagen macrumors newbie

Hello Friends,
    I am still a Windows PC user, and i am very tired of all the crashes, viruses and millions reboots, Blue Screen of death and loosing my precious data.

I have, finally, decided to invest in a good mac pro or iMac.
    my usage: Website creation, Multimedia (Photograhy, a bit of Video Editing), a bit of Gaming, and general usage.

I had a few questions, as i am a complete newbie with regards to MACs:
    - Can i buy a MAC Pro, and upgrade the processor in the future (as i know HDD, RAM, Graphics Card can be upgraded and other small external accessories can be added in the later future)
    - Does MAC based systems crash or have viruses?
    - What are the down sides of buying a Apple system?
    - Is IMac better or a Mac Pro? ( i like the idea that i can keep upgrading Mac Pro, which means it will last much longer!)
    - Is it easy to use/install pirated Apple Software on Apple Systems?
    - Where can i buy Apple System most cheap (i have seen US offers the best prices, i am in UK, and can get a friend to bring it with her from US)
    - Does an IMac come with a Mic?

I thank you in advance for your guidance and help.
    Best Regards
    Simon

2. sclough macrumors regular

1. Not sure about the processor upgrade as I don't have a pro, but there are others here who can probably verify.
    2. In my experience, it is extremely rare for OSX to crash. I personally haven't seen a crash in probably 3 years. Viruses are practically non-existent. The exploits that do exist are typically something in Safari, for example, that requires you to click a malignant link. With that said, because of the OS design, exploits also can do far less damage. I've never been affected by an exploit in 6 years of Mac usage and run no anti-virus type software and don't know any Mac users who do.