Advise on running photoshop

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Trout74, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. Trout74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #1
    Just purchased Adobe CS5 for my wife's new photography business she is Re-Starting after out kids finally got big enough, and time is available again.

    Will this run photoshop well?
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC511LL/A?mco=MTkwMzU2MjI

    She says she ran CS3 with much less four years ago, but I dont know how much more processing power and RAM requirements CS5 has packed into it. Also, we have the iMac in my signature we could use as well....

    Your thoughts are appreciated.
    thanks,
    trout
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    That i5 iMac will suffice, just upgrade the RAM if necessary via third party vendors like Newegg or MacSales/OWC.
     
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3

    These day, to run things smoothly with CS5, 4Gb of RAM is at the low end of what I'd recommend to others, particularly if they're working on photography; large layered files, possibly 16 bit images etc. Photoshop and some of the other CS apps have specific settings in preferences to maximise their performance on different setups, so it might be worth taking a look through those before thinking of splashing out on more RAM. See how the machine is working under a typical workload, see whether it's smooth switching between apps and the like, even just zooming into images.

    One final thing: especially as it's a business, it's good to also budget for a backup solution in case of disk problems, accidents etc. My setup includes a cloned drive, backed up twice a day; if the main drive stopped working, I could be up and running again with minimal loss within a couple of minutes.

    Also, for Photoshop performance, check out:

    http://blogs.adobe.com/scottbyer/files/scottbyer/PSWorldPerformancePresentation_Expanded.pdf
     
  4. Trout74 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #4
    Thank you! We did purchase a 1TB external back-up drive to save copies too and back-up from. I tell you what, between the softbox's, lights, Canon 7d, lenses, backdrops, website, advertising, etc. The computer is the cheapest thing so far :eek: !

    trout
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Do not consider an external disk on the same site (especially if it's left connected to/beside the computer) as a backup. Get a second disk and keep it offsite (at home say). Rotate then every couple of weeks or every month. That way if someone robs the premises or it burns down you don't lose your backup along with the primary data.
     
  6. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #6

    I can imagine. A colour calibrator will also be useful, maybe a Spyder 3. For archival media, I like this article which gets updated from time to time. All the best for your new venture. :)
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Spyder 3's are great pieces of kit. I even calibrated my TV (as it runs via a Mac) using mine! As the OP has an EOS 7D (great camera :)) they might also want to consider a Spyder LensCal which aids with lens micro-focus correction which the 7D supports.
     
  8. Trout74 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #8
    Wow! thanks for the input and advise, I will absolutely look at both of those. The hope is if she can get to where she was before the kids, then I could maybe join her and finally leave corporate America and finally have freedom! lol!

    any other suggestions are welcome.

    trout
     

Share This Page