AEBS Trouble on Mac Side after XP Install

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dvassallo, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. dvassallo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I am copying and pasting 2 posts from the Apple.com discussion boards as I am having no luck finding an answer there...hope someone can help! Thanks!

    Network unavailable
    Posted: Feb 2, 2008 5:11 PM
    Reply Email

    Having had good wireless connection to the internet while working in Windows XP in my Boot Camp partition, I find that I can't automatically connect to my wireless network when I reboot back into Mac OS X.
    I use WPA2 security and find that the password isn't accepted ("invalid"), and the button next to the AEBS pic in System Preferences > Network is yellow.

    Yesterday when this problem appeared, I tried powering off the AEBS, waiting 10 seconds, and powering back on. That worked, but the problem returned later after booting into XP (Boot Camp), and back out again. I then tried changing the channel from 11 to 7. That worked. But ... the same problem returned. Another tactic involved 'Blue Apple' > Restart. The last time, I just waited and after about 5 minutes the connection re-established itself, although I tried several times un-successfully to connect.
    Whichever way I look at it it's a nuisance and wasn't like this until yesterday.

    Can anyone shed any light on this and suggest how to clear the problem up?

    iMac 20" 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo/4GB/Win XP Pro/ Mac OS X (10.5.1) iMac G4 15"/800MHz/1GB and PowerBook G4 17"/1.33 MHz/1GB, both OS 10.4.11

    Re: Network unavailable
    Posted: Feb 4, 2008 6:07 PM in response to: Rod Fryer
    Reply Email

    I am having the EXACT same problem...also using WPA2. It is driving me nuts. I am trying to isolate possible causes...thought it might be due to static addressing scheme I am using but that does not seem to be the case. I am using static IP addressing and I assigned different IP's to both sides of the machine. I wasn't sure if some IP/MAC address association was bugging it out...the fact that the same MAC address was being associated with two different IP addresses. Now I have assigned the same IP to both sides and the problem still persists. Does anyone have any ideas? Is anyone experiencing the same or similar problems?

    2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HD Mac OS X (10.5.1) Connected to Airport Extreme wireless network
     
  2. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #2
    I have the exact same setup and problem.

    Plus, my computer's clock gets messed up when I boot back into OS X.

    I can't seem to find the source of the problem.
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Repair permissions.
    Go to keychain, delete the wireless password so you can re-enter it.
    Update the airport basestation software via Airport Utility.
    Otherwise, reset the password manually, and type it in slowly the next time.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
  5. dvassallo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Still got nothing

    I am having no success on either front. I booted from my Leopard Install disk and repaired permissions on my Leopard partition, deleted password for base station from the keychain, re-entered it, and checked for updates on my base station (it was up to date as I expected). Booted into OSX and everything works fine. Boot into XP SP2 and everything works fine. I cannot find the registry key you referenced....Under control I do not have "Time Zone" there is something else in there similar but it has no key called "Realtime is universal." When I booted back into OSX my preferred network is still not being found/joined and when I join it manually it is still rejecting the password. Again, a simple reset of the AEBS solves the problem. This is leading me to believe it is a router/network setting. Still can't figure it out. Anyone else have ideas...? Thank you for the help.
     

Share This Page