Aerial photos!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Presha, Jun 21, 2010.

1. Presha macrumors regular

Hi everyone!

I have a friend who has a private plane and wants me to go on an aerial photoshoot with him. My questions is, has anyone here done this before and have any tips for me? Also, what lens should I shoot with? I currently have a 16-35II L IS and a 70-200mm L IS. I was planing to rent a 400mm or 600mm prime (L) series of course.

Thx in advance for your help!

2. iSax1234 macrumors regular

3. Presha thread starter macrumors regular

Hi iSAX123!

Not sure about how high we're going to be flying. Is the any specific alttitude we should fly at? I assume no mor than 10-15 thousand feet? This is a cesna type of airplane, don't think they can go very high....but what do I know, Im only a photographer:p

4. spice weasel macrumors 65816

I know absolutely nothing about aerial photography, but someone posted this National Geographic photo on Digg earlier today. According to the tip at the bottom, flying higher equals more haze. The tip suggests shooting from no higher than 1,000 feet. Of course, this is in rural China, where a) airspace restrictions might be different, and b) smog and haze might be different than in other parts of the world.

Anyway, here is the link: http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-of-the-day/terraced-rice-field-china/

5. Presha thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the article Spice Weasel! I'll read it on my lunch break.

6. iSax1234 macrumors regular

I cannot offer any information for aerial shooting either, but it seems the higher you're flying the more you can see. So you'll need telephoto the higher you go, while if you're lower you may just need wide angle. Just my logical take at things. I may be completely wrong.

7. flyboy4969 macrumors newbie

Aerial info