Aero on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CoolKen86, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. CoolKen86
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I recently installed Windows 7 via Fusion on my Macbook Pro and I am wondering if it is possible to use the Aero feature with fusion. If it can then how?
     
  2. Chris.
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Hi,

    Unfortunately its not possible to enable Aero when running Windows under VMware Fusion.
     
  3. CoolKen86
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
  4. NovemberWhiskey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #4
    Will they ever get aero running for VMware Fusion? Is it possible?
     
  5. jim.arrows
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #5
    It's been long enough now...

    I sure as hell hope so, it's a MAJOR annoyance, especially with all the nice new features in Win7. Whether Parallels or VMware gets it working first will determine who gets my virtualizaton dollars.
     
  6. NovemberWhiskey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #6
    Yeah, Aero for the windows is a minor aesthetic deficiency--but not having aero-peek with the start bar is a utility deficiency.
     
  7. cainnovacaine
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    cainnovacaine

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    I'm guessing that it might be possible in the near future because newer versions are enabling better hardware acceleration.
     
  8. NovemberWhiskey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #8
    Newer versions of Fusion?
     
  9. elgrecomac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    Yes...

    A new version is forthcoming and is currently in its Beta testing cycle with selected users.
     
  10. NovemberWhiskey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #10
    any word of them getting aero/peek to work?
     

Share This Page