AFP servers not in sidebar

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by maclover001, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. maclover001 macrumors 6502a

    maclover001

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #1
    Is there any way to get my Ubuntu AFP server to show in the sidebar? I don't like going to Go > Connect to server > Browse > (server) > Web Server every time I want to connect.

    My moms Windows computer always shows in the sidebar, yet the AFP server does not.

    Thanks :)

    EDIT: Added images.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lord anubis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #2
    Hi,

    One more way to do it is:
    One more app - Open preferences > Accounts > Select your account > Login Items.
    One more time - in Finder Go > Connect to server > blah blah
    One more thing - in Finder Go > Computer - Drag the drive/Server from the finder window to you Pref startup items.


    After every login the server should mounted automically.


    HTH
     
  3. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #3
    That will mount the servers but it still won't show them in the sidebar.
     
  4. meneermoot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #4
    Try dragging the drive/Server from the finder window to the sidebar.

    It seems to remember across eject as well.

    Cheers
    Mark
     
  5. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    You need to install avahi on the ubuntu server. Its an open source bonjour daemon.
     
  6. maclover001 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maclover001

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #6
    It's already installed. I just want the ubuntu server ("homer-simpson") to appear in the SIDEBAR. It only appears in Network Neighborhood.

    I can connect to it just fine, I just want to save the extra clicks and have a link in the sidebar.
     
  7. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    Did you install the mdns library? and an afpd.service file for avahi?
     
  8. maclover001 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maclover001

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #8
    I did. I'm convinced the issue is on OS X's side, because it's appearing in the "Jamie's MacBook" folder, just not in the sidebar. Dragging it there does not work.
     
  9. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #9

Share This Page